Chef John's Patatas Bravas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
These are fabulous! I followed the recipe to the T. Now I know the secret to crispy fried potatoes. A few tips: 1. Make the dipping sauce first (even a day ahead) and let it sit to marry flavors. 2. You can cook the potatoes ahead of time. Just make sure they are dry when you put in oil. 3. Taste the fried potatoes as you add the seasoning after frying. I did not use all of the seasoning mixture to avoid over-saltiness. This recipe is authentic and the sauce tastes just like I had in Barcelona and all over Catalonia. No stars for healthiness, but 5 starts for taste. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Way too salty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
So I doubled this recipe, so maybe it was a bit off. But it was WAY too salty. I would not put a tablespoon of salt. Maybe it is a misprint? I could see a teaspoon, but definitely not a tablespoon. Luckily it goes in at the end so I was able to shake a bit off. Would have been good without the extreme salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Anthony
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
If I can do it, you can do it lol! I have now made this recipe 3 times for my girlfriend, she loves this recipe! On the spicy side which I love (her not so much). I've learned to also do steps 3 and 4 first, then step 1 and 2, then step 5. In my opinion it makes more sense to do steps 1 and 2 while the potatoes go through their 45 min cool down. Overall though, it's delicious, and I plan on making this for some time to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
The dipping sauce is perfect! I always have it ready in my fridge to use with lots of other foods! Its Great on burgers! Be sure to use good quality paprika (pimenton) and sherry vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
Amazing! Perfect crisp! I had no idea the secret was in letting the potatoes sit out. Perfectly seasoned, I'm in love. I now follow Chef John and have his blog saved in my favorites! Ever recipe is gold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
WOW! I love it. I have made it so many times with regular spanish paprika, since I couldn't find smokey paprika and the end result has been excellent every time. Thanks so much for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Great potatoes that taste like what you get in Spain! This recipe was easy to follow, but it was time consuming. Next time I'll make the sauce and boil the potatoes the night before, so that I only have to fry and season them when I'm cooking dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
a nice change that didn't take too long to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Patatas Bravas

See how to make “fierce” and flavorful crispy Spanish potatoes.

Chef John's Three Corn Polenta

Jazz up creamy polenta with fresh corn kernels.

Chef John's Cheater Pierogi

Discover a quick-and-easy way to make pierogi.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States