Chef John's Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This is a great mushroom gravy recipe! My wife loves it on potatoes and it is absolutely killer with beef! Another excellent Chef John version of a classic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
I used mushroom broth instead of beef stock, and instead of butter I used meat drippings, added some pureed garlic and a pinch of pepper.....much tastier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Mmmm! I made this tonight to go over some mashed red potatoes. This was dashed good. Not as thick as some gravies, but the potatoes just soaked this up. Followed to the letter and it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy14

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I tried this recipe last night and it was nothing less that exceptional!! I doubled the mushrooms using regular & cremini. I didn't have thyme on hand, I used the beef stock and followed the recipe other than that.It was such a great hit with the family that I will double the recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I made this for brunch with biscuits. I used chicken broth - it was delicious! I did add chardonnay to enhance the flavors. Although I didn't have fresh thyme I used dried thyme and still loved the thyme in there. I made this for a crowd and have leftovers. I cannot wait to use this in a baked chicken and rice dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
This was good, but thin and a little salty. I expected both of those from the video and the other reviews. I halved the mushrooms and felt there were still plenty. I would use low sodium stock/broth next time as others recommended and probably still halve the mushrooms for our taste. I would also add extra thickener since we prefer a thicker gravy than this. We thought this went well with meatloaf and mashed potatoes and was a simple preparation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This was awesome!!! I made it for Thanksgiving and again for Christmas. If you like mushrooms, this is perfect!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Lancaster, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Interested in a mushroom gravy sauce for masked potatoes, along side a filet, I came across this recipe. Being a little simple, I had to give it a try. I cut the mushrooms in cubes, rather than slices, to give it a meatier feel. Too compensate for the amount of slat I used a mixture of low sodium chicken stock and water, which I loved. Overall, very easy and I enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
It was delicious, especially for having such simple ingredients. I made the recipe mostly as stated. I used Imagine Low Sodium Vegetable Broth and pinch of dried thyme. When I first combined the ingredients, I was really worried it would turn out horribly due to widely varying flavors. After simmering for several minutes, the flavors really started coming together though. I ended up having to add quite a bit of salt, which I expected; I usually have to add extra salt for the broth I used. I also chopped the mushrooms instead of sliced them. It took a little more time, but I really enjoy having many small bits of mushrooms rather than a few larger pieces. Even though the broth had an orange color, the gravy came out the usual grayish color of mushroom gravy after simmering, which was a relief. (I was worried it would look unnatural.) I will definitely keep and use this recipe. It probably made about 3 and a half cups of gravy. If anybody has used the vegetarian mushroom gravy recipe that calls for tablespoons of soy sauce, I would give up that recipe and use this. This can easily be made vegan as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
made this tonight with french onion crusted pork chops, mashed, and corn. It was amazing. My first time making gravy from scratch, it was delicious!!! I just kind of ended up eyeballing everything. Used a whole container of fresh mushrooms cooked in butter added flour to coat then added one can (a little over 2 cups of beef broth) I seasoned with a little salt and pepper. Also added some (about a tablespoon) balsamic glaze for a little something extra. I also added a little more flour at the end (about a 1/4 cup) to thicken it a little more. I was getting impatient to eat!! From start to finish Id say it only took about 20 mins. But it still tasted amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erin anne

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Washougal, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States