Chef John's Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2015
I found the directions were misleading, from the first paragraph it said simmer then in the third it said reduce to medium low, at no point did it say to turn it up also found it bland made some changes came out okay wouldn't use this recipe again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2015
Chef John I Am always eager to try your recipes! You never disappoint! Absolutely Delish!! Thank you for yet another Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
Nice gravy, but sautéing the mushrooms til browned intensified the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
Thank you for sharing this recipe. It turned wonderful. The second time I made it I added a half cup of red wine during the last 10 minutes of cooking and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
It is a nice gravy. No lumps and easy to make but a bit bland for my taste. I like a lot of punch so I added an extra beef stock cube and also reduced 1/2 cup red wine until around 3/4 was gone and added to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
I just made this gravy to go over a pork tenderloin. I am not even really a gravy person - but this gravy was soooooo good! I was sorry that I didn't make a huge pot of it! My husband loved it! I used white mushrooms and baby portabellas - wow - what a rich flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUNTTISH

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I loved it, this my second time making it , so i Added i splash of cooki g sherry to simmer the mushrooms in, but either omit the salt or use unsalted butter....p.s. (and i dont like the texture of mushrooms....go fiqure)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
I used baby portobello mushrooms (that's what I had on hand)with this recipe. It was fabulous and so easy. My husband has a discerning pallet and he loved this recipe. I served it on minute steaks and oven roasted new potatoes. This is a very versatile recipe that allows the delicious mushroom flavor to shine. This could be a meatloaf topper, as well. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2015
This gravy is delicious. I omitted the salt, the beef broth and butter has enough. Yes, I used beef broth instead of stock, all I had on hand. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by yiayia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Made as directed. Delicious! Husband loved it. Keeping this for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 104) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States