Chef John's Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
best gravy I have ever made. Thank you again Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
Always love Chef John's recipes! Followed the recipe to a T and it came out perfectly. I browned some meatballs first separately and then added them to the gravy for the last 10 or 15 minutes to cook them through. Served with Chef John's Perfect Mashed Potatoes and steamed broccoli. They whole family cleaned their plates, including the picky 5 and 7 yr olds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Nolen Woods

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Not worth the effort. About all you taste is the beef stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
A super easy and delicious recipe. Chef John has done it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
I have made this a few times now and this time I changed it up a bit. This gravy is spectacular the way it is but I had pork that I wanted to cook. My mom used to use cream of mushroom soup and take pork chops and fry them then cover them with the soup and simmer til they were tender. Well I don't like using the soup because of the sodium and preservatives. So I decided to cut my pork roast into chops, season with salt and pepper and pan fry with some olive oil and butter. In another pan I decided to make this gravy. I sauteed some onion til clear, added my mushrooms and a couple of cloves of minced garlic. Waited till the liquid evaporated and followed the directions for the gravy. When my pork "chops" were browned, I cut them up in smaller pieces and added them to my gravy. I also added some fresh thyme and a couple of fresh sage leaves chopped. I simmered the pork in the mushroom gravy till it was super tender. I also added a few glugs (industry term) of white wine to the gravy. While all that was happening I boiled up some egg noodles. We spooned the pork mixture over the noodles and magic happened, it was completely silent. Everyone loved the dinner, Thanks Chef John for a perfect recipe to also make it my own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oak Forest, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2014
I used vegetable broth instead of beef stock and it turned out great. Nice way to make more boring chicken taste great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
We used the liquid bouillon. It DOES make a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Reine333

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
This recipe was fantastic. I omitted using additional salt, though I did use salted butter. I also had beef stock paste (1 tspn per 8oz of water), and only used 2 tspns of it so it wouldn't be as salty. I probably should have only used 3 cups of water instead of 4, as it was more liquidy than I wanted, but I had already added all of the water, and ended up adding some extra flour to thicken it. Absolutely delicious. Used on chicken and baked fries. Will definitely make again!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by petitemousie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
This recipe is a keeper, I added mushrooms to the sauce. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Tasted great. I will be using again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brock Carson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States