Chef John's Mushroom Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I'm not sure what mushroom gravy should taste like. Half the broth I subbed Condensed French Onion Soup to it. I think I would try this again without the soup and just stick to the stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ravens Gurl
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
I made the addition of two chopped onions, which I browned with the mushrooms to deepen the flavour. I also substituted a portion of the broth for a can of beer. This gravy turned out absolutely delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
I made some tweaks. Came out super yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Giamaica Rose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This was super tasting and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
I made this gravy tonight, and although the flavor was excellent, it was WAY too salty as written in the recipe. I was worried about that extra pinch of salt to help "draw out" the water from the mushrooms, which only made it worse when simmering down the broth and concentrating the flavors. Next time, I'd use either unsalted butter and/or low-sodium beef broth. I used it over mashed potatoes and buttermilk meatloaf, which paired perfectly with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Osowoofy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA
Photo by KGora
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
I've made several batches of this gravy and have tried low sodium stock, broth, store brand stock as well as a quality stock. I've salted the mushrooms, I've left the salt out of the mushrooms, used salted butter, unsalted butter - you name it I've tried it. Mostly due to making it from memory or using what I happened to have on hand at the time. The best batch I made was my first batch. The stock you use makes a big difference. I chose a high quality low sodium stock, did not salt the mushrooms and used salted butter which resulted in a very flavorful perfectly seasoned gravy. I have tried both sliced as well as roughly chopped mushrooms and prefer the chopped version. The reducing definitely increases the salt content so watch the simmering process carefully. It is easy to get busy in the kitchen and forget about your simmering gravy which can make or break this recipe. The fresh thyme was a nice touch. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KGora

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
Perfect as written but I used 1 1/2 pounds of mushrooms. Makes a lot (what I wanted); now have easy great gravy from the freezer whenever I need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
This recipe is great. I served it with Chef John's Classic meatloaf and it is a really good gravy recipe considering there isn't any meat drippings. I will be making this again. Thank you Chef John. FYI - I used unsalted butter and low sodium beef broth and it wasn't too salty. I did not use the beef stock but either would work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
This is really good. I used vegetable stock rather than beef, and added onions. It doesn't need that much salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
Great! Change according to your taste… I used veggie broth instead
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Mushroom Gravy

See how to make quick and easy mushroom gravy.

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Creamy Mushroom Soup

Discover the simple trick to delicious homemade creamy mushroom soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States