Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
This was fantastic. Whole family loved it. I will be making this one again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2015
Great , Easy and very good . I am a big Chef John fan . Great easy to make recipe's that are excellent . Thanks for sharing . Lyle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Delhi, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2015
This recipe was very simple and tasted fantastic! It also taught me how to poach an egg; I overcooked it the first time, but then learned how to tell "by touch" when the egg was done. Thanks Chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have made this twice, testing it before I serve it at a brunch for 50. The first time I made it as written but without the allspice. I thought the savory overpowered the sweet. I guess I am looking for more of a monte cristo and less of a eggs benedict. The second time I made it (again without the allspice and added a sprinkle of sugar to the batter) but didn't serve the poached eggs. Instead I drizzled it with maple syrup. The salty/sweet combo is perfect that way. That is what I'll be serving at the big brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Very tasty! I made several tweaks however. I decide to eliminate the sweet factor in the end and replaced the sugar with several spices I use for breakfast eggs, such as tarragon, garlic powder, paprika, and worcestershire sauce. I also added a couple slices of tomato once the cheese and ham were assembled. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
Great recipe for eggs benedict without the hollandaise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Im not sure what I could have changed, but I think id much rather have a Panini or a fried egg sandwich instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was good....ok really. We ate every bite but I'm not sure I would make it again. We didn't really particularly care for the way the flavors meshed. It is so simple to make for a beautiful presentation and it could just be our palettes. I encourage people to try it because the idea of it all is quite awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Made this for Father's Day breakfast and it tasted better than my homemade Eggs Benedict which always gets rave reviews... So easy to make used muenster, Havarti, and Vermont extra sharp white cheddar... Made several and no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
OH MY!! I made this for Fathers Day brunch with a side of fruit salad. It was a big hit in my house, my husband LOVED it. I was happy to find something different than the usual pancakes and eggs! I will make this again and not to mention LOVED that fact that I didnt have to "tweak" this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gfam83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States