Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this for father's day and my husband loved it!!!! We will definitely make this again!!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Made this for Father's Day breakfast and it tasted better than my homemade Eggs Benedict which always gets rave reviews... So easy to make used muenster, Havarti, and Vermont extra sharp white cheddar... Made several and no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made this for my girlfriend and I for a Sunday brunch. She and I are in agreement that we will never feel the need to eat out in order to get decent Benedict. Due to ingredients in the fridge, we had to do a little substituting but it was still well worth it. Half-and-half instead of heavy cream, Dave's Killer Bread instead of French, turkey instead of ham, and we even omitted the Havarti. I'm sure it's that much better with the actual suggested ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was excellent. The taste is indulgent and memorable, like one would associate with a holiday tradition. My children, 12 & 6, enjoyed this as much as I did. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My daughter made this for my Mother's Day breakfast yesterday. All I can say is WOW!!!!! Due to the richness we only had one poached egg atop the delicious French toast, which was more than enough. It was savory, sweet and delectable. It was the perfect combination of my favorite sandwich, the Monte Cristo, and Eggs Benedict. Even my six-yr old son liked it. This recipe is now a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
made this for mothers day breakfast and it was a hit. The only difference was I fried the egg over medium. This will be a regular in our kitchen. Thanks Chef John Jose Alvarez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great recipe and video tutorial! My hubby and I loved this (we are big Eggs Benedict fans) when I made it for breakfast yesterday. I followed the recipe exactly for the extra pinch of cayenne at the end (I forgot). The trickiest part was poaching the eggs, but as long as I watched the pot it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious! I made this for supper. I don’t have a sweet tooth so I omitted the sugar and reduced the allspice and cinnamon to just a dash each in the batter. The whipping cream is sweet enough without the need for additional sugar. I also omitted the salt from the batter because I didn’t see any reason for it when the ham is already salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brinabear26
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this for my husband for Father's Day brunch and he absolutely loved it. He said it was the best breakfast he ever had. So did the kids. They asked if I could make it again tomorrow??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
OH MY!! I made this for Fathers Day brunch with a side of fruit salad. It was a big hit in my house, my husband LOVED it. I was happy to find something different than the usual pancakes and eggs! I will make this again and not to mention LOVED that fact that I didnt have to "tweak" this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gfam83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States