Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I really like the method and the idea behind this recipe. For me personally there is a little too much cinnamon, allspice and sugar in the french toast, but that is me - others may really like that. I forgot about the chives, they are called for in the ingredients but not in the instructions, I assume they were supposed to be used as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Just terrific! My husband, a huge fan of Eggs Benedict, was crazy about it, which surprised me a little, as he really enjoys a ridiculous amount of Hollandaise sauce on "normal" Benedict. This one's a keeper, and would be great for holiday guests, The only change I made was to substitute good sliced Swiss for the Havarti. Thanks for a great brunch, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was excellent. The taste is indulgent and memorable, like one would associate with a holiday tradition. My children, 12 & 6, enjoyed this as much as I did. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brinabear26
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this for my husband for Father's Day brunch and he absolutely loved it. He said it was the best breakfast he ever had. So did the kids. They asked if I could make it again tomorrow??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
made this for mothers day breakfast and it was a hit. The only difference was I fried the egg over medium. This will be a regular in our kitchen. Thanks Chef John Jose Alvarez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My daughter made this for my Mother's Day breakfast yesterday. All I can say is WOW!!!!! Due to the richness we only had one poached egg atop the delicious French toast, which was more than enough. It was savory, sweet and delectable. It was the perfect combination of my favorite sandwich, the Monte Cristo, and Eggs Benedict. Even my six-yr old son liked it. This recipe is now a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2015
I have made this twice, testing it before I serve it at a brunch for 50. The first time I made it as written but without the allspice. I thought the savory overpowered the sweet. I guess I am looking for more of a monte cristo and less of a eggs benedict. The second time I made it (again without the allspice and added a sprinkle of sugar to the batter) but didn't serve the poached eggs. Instead I drizzled it with maple syrup. The salty/sweet combo is perfect that way. That is what I'll be serving at the big brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4forty

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stoughton, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Im not sure what I could have changed, but I think id much rather have a Panini or a fried egg sandwich instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Javalady

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was good....ok really. We ate every bite but I'm not sure I would make it again. We didn't really particularly care for the way the flavors meshed. It is so simple to make for a beautiful presentation and it could just be our palettes. I encourage people to try it because the idea of it all is quite awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Made this for Father's Day breakfast and it tasted better than my homemade Eggs Benedict which always gets rave reviews... So easy to make used muenster, Havarti, and Vermont extra sharp white cheddar... Made several and no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States