Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I really like the method and the idea behind this recipe. For me personally there is a little too much cinnamon, allspice and sugar in the french toast, but that is me - others may really like that. I forgot about the chives, they are called for in the ingredients but not in the instructions, I assume they were supposed to be used as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Just terrific! My husband, a huge fan of Eggs Benedict, was crazy about it, which surprised me a little, as he really enjoys a ridiculous amount of Hollandaise sauce on "normal" Benedict. This one's a keeper, and would be great for holiday guests, The only change I made was to substitute good sliced Swiss for the Havarti. Thanks for a great brunch, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was excellent. The taste is indulgent and memorable, like one would associate with a holiday tradition. My children, 12 & 6, enjoyed this as much as I did. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
made this for mothers day breakfast and it was a hit. The only difference was I fried the egg over medium. This will be a regular in our kitchen. Thanks Chef John Jose Alvarez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My daughter made this for my Mother's Day breakfast yesterday. All I can say is WOW!!!!! Due to the richness we only had one poached egg atop the delicious French toast, which was more than enough. It was savory, sweet and delectable. It was the perfect combination of my favorite sandwich, the Monte Cristo, and Eggs Benedict. Even my six-yr old son liked it. This recipe is now a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made this for my girlfriend and I for a Sunday brunch. She and I are in agreement that we will never feel the need to eat out in order to get decent Benedict. Due to ingredients in the fridge, we had to do a little substituting but it was still well worth it. Half-and-half instead of heavy cream, Dave's Killer Bread instead of French, turkey instead of ham, and we even omitted the Havarti. I'm sure it's that much better with the actual suggested ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This was good....ok really. We ate every bite but I'm not sure I would make it again. We didn't really particularly care for the way the flavors meshed. It is so simple to make for a beautiful presentation and it could just be our palettes. I encourage people to try it because the idea of it all is quite awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Made this for Father's Day breakfast and it tasted better than my homemade Eggs Benedict which always gets rave reviews... So easy to make used muenster, Havarti, and Vermont extra sharp white cheddar... Made several and no leftovers :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
OH MY!! I made this for Fathers Day brunch with a side of fruit salad. It was a big hit in my house, my husband LOVED it. I was happy to find something different than the usual pancakes and eggs! I will make this again and not to mention LOVED that fact that I didnt have to "tweak" this recipe at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gfam83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brinabear26
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I made this for my husband for Father's Day brunch and he absolutely loved it. He said it was the best breakfast he ever had. So did the kids. They asked if I could make it again tomorrow??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States