Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I really like the method and the idea behind this recipe. For me personally there is a little too much cinnamon, allspice and sugar in the french toast, but that is me - others may really like that. I forgot about the chives, they are called for in the ingredients but not in the instructions, I assume they were supposed to be used as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Made this for my girlfriend and I for a Sunday brunch. She and I are in agreement that we will never feel the need to eat out in order to get decent Benedict. Due to ingredients in the fridge, we had to do a little substituting but it was still well worth it. Half-and-half instead of heavy cream, Dave's Killer Bread instead of French, turkey instead of ham, and we even omitted the Havarti. I'm sure it's that much better with the actual suggested ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
This was excellent. The taste is indulgent and memorable, like one would associate with a holiday tradition. My children, 12 & 6, enjoyed this as much as I did. Thank you for sharing this with us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Just terrific! My husband, a huge fan of Eggs Benedict, was crazy about it, which surprised me a little, as he really enjoys a ridiculous amount of Hollandaise sauce on "normal" Benedict. This one's a keeper, and would be great for holiday guests, The only change I made was to substitute good sliced Swiss for the Havarti. Thanks for a great brunch, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This was a wonderful recipe. I actually made this as a breakfast in bed for my lady for Valentine's Day and she loved it. She actually loved it so much that she requested it for breakfast a couple days later. The first day I didn't have enough of the egg mixture to coat the 4th bread (Texas Toast), but that may have been because I left the first to absorb too much, I'm not certain. The second time, since there's just two of us, I cut the recipe in half and had enough mixture for both slices. I substituted Chipotle Chile Powder for the Cayenne, just because I didn't have any on hand. I also omitted the chives and all-spice, again because I didn't have any. But I think the highlight of this was definitely the Havarti cheese which neither of us had ever tried prior to this recipe. The cheese is very creamy and buttery. I just wanted to write in and say thank you to Chef John for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joanna's Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
I found the French toast too sweet to be combined with the ham/cheese/egg. I ended up dis-assembling and eating that portion separate from the French toast. I would make just the French toast portion again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
My daughter made this for my Mother's Day breakfast yesterday. All I can say is WOW!!!!! Due to the richness we only had one poached egg atop the delicious French toast, which was more than enough. It was savory, sweet and delectable. It was the perfect combination of my favorite sandwich, the Monte Cristo, and Eggs Benedict. Even my six-yr old son liked it. This recipe is now a keeper in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
made this for mothers day breakfast and it was a hit. The only difference was I fried the egg over medium. This will be a regular in our kitchen. Thanks Chef John Jose Alvarez
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Great recipe and video tutorial! My hubby and I loved this (we are big Eggs Benedict fans) when I made it for breakfast yesterday. I followed the recipe exactly for the extra pinch of cayenne at the end (I forgot). The trickiest part was poaching the eggs, but as long as I watched the pot it was fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Delicious! I made this for supper. I don’t have a sweet tooth so I omitted the sugar and reduced the allspice and cinnamon to just a dash each in the batter. The whipping cream is sweet enough without the need for additional sugar. I also omitted the salt from the batter because I didn’t see any reason for it when the ham is already salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Monte Cristo Benedict

See how to make the ultimate brunch dish.

Chef John's Eggs Benedict

See how to make a classic brunch dish with poached eggs and hollandaise.

Chef John's Baked Eggs

See how to make spicy baked eggs for breakfast, lunch, or dinner!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States