Chef John's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by pleasedeleteprofile
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I thought this was a fabulous recipe and very easy to make. Of course, I love Chef John's recipe, always flavorful and he allows enough room for individual creativity and diversity with personal flavor preferences. Here are the few subtle changes I made: 4 ounces pancetta because that is the portion I purchased from Trader Joe's, instead of cranberry beans, I used a can of white beans, instead of a 28 ounce can of tomatoes I substituted 2 15 ounce cans of basil-garlic chopped tomatos, left out the cabbage and used all Swiss Chard. Lastly, I used 1/2 cup red wine in place of some of the water. Seasoned to taste. Thank you again Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Soooo good!! I made little changes too, as expected. Used Salami instead of Pancetta, lentils instead of cranberry beans and escarole instead of Swiss chard. What a yummy soup!!! Thanks for the great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tinag19

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
So good and a great way to get the kids to eat their veggies. The swiss chard makes this soup beautiful. The beauty of this recipe is that it is forgiving if you omit or substitute some of the veggie ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cydney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
Absolutely wonderful! Could not find cranberry beans, so substituted pinto beans which I cooked separately beforehand. Definitely recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This soup is excellent! I made as written with the exception of the beans. I couldn't find cranberry beans and I don't really care for garbanzo beans. In their place I used light red kidney beans and cannellini beans. Also, I never cook my pasta in the broth....I always cook it separate and add to the individual serving bowls. This helps the pasta not get mushy and soak up all of the broth if I want to save some for later or give some away. If I do give some away, I always give a bag of pasta to go with it! I will definitely be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janmarie1964

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmira, New York, USA
Living In: Apalachin, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
This is a great recipe. I of course changed it a bit as chef john suggests most people will do. My changes were I didn't put in any cabbage or Swiss Chard as I don't care for those very much in my soups. Also the plum tomatoes I used two cans of diced tomatoes with green chilli's instead. I am a garlic addict.. so I doubled the garlic... probably will not do next time as it was a little too strong even for me. For the beans I used red beans, and garbanzo. Anyway, it was great, loved it and will definitely make it again. this recipe has earned a permanent spot in my recipe book.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ninkitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
Soooooo easy... Sooooooooooo good. Added carrots. Used pinto beans in place of the cranberry beans and cooked pasta separately since part of our home is gluten free. Delish!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elmwood Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Oakland, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
Great recipe. I put in more of the pancetta and since I didn't want to bother with the cranberry beans, I decided to put in some lentils, although any type of canned beans work well. I also added potato and carrot. It's just wonderful! I've already made it 3 times and have placed the leftover in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
next time try bacon, did as directed but used pinto beans very excellent but pancetta very expensive 3oz. $5.00
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States