Chef John's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
As always, Chef John knocks it out of the park. This one is excellent. There wasn't any Swiss Chard or Ditalini available and I wasn't going to throw $10+ a pound Pancetta in a soup broth so I used Turnip Greens, bacon and as there weren't any fresh 'shellies' I justed drained a can of Canalini beans. For pasta I used Mini Farfalle (Bow ties). The night I served it 'fresh' it was five stars in flavor, but seemed like there wasn't enough pasta, but you know pasta! The next day the pasta had swelled more, the flavors had 'melded' and it was off the charts. It's great the day you make it, but I am going to make it on 'slow days' when I can play in the kitchen and just put the cooled pot in the frig for that hectic day later in the week. Pick up a loaf of Italian bread, re-heat it and 'dip and slurp'. Now 'go play with your food!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Absolutely marvelous! The perfect winter soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Giorgio-Stokdal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Absolutely wonderful! My recipe for minestrone soup is getting deleted from my recipe box, because this one is the new replacement. This soup got the best response from my family. All through dinner it was hmmm. Thank you Chef John, I hope everyone tries this soup. It is a keeper, and the go to. I couldn't find the cranberry beans so I did use cannellini beans in their place. Everything else is spot on in flavor and amounts. Kat >^..^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cats-n-Roses

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This soup was decent. Very hearty and very thick. Be sure to have a giant dutch oven to make it in. This time I put in one italian sausage. Next time I'd like to do 2 or maybe even 3 because the sausage is the best part. I also think it needs mushrooms. The tomato flavor is pretty overwhelming. I think next time I'll try some red wine to give it a different flavor. All I really taste is tomato and chili flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This was just ok. 2 things to know ahead of time- 1. very salty!! 2 tsp of salt is way to much, 1tsp would have been plenty. 2. This makes a large pot of soup, great for potlucks or big family dinners where you are feeding a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Fabulous receipe. I used canned red and white kidney beans instead of cranerry beans it was absolutely delicious. Defintiely on the top of my soup receipes!!!!! Kristene
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
This minestrone is amazing. I am a minestrone fanatic, and I LOVE Chef John. Two birds with one stone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I really like this recipe and the way you encourage variation of ingredients in your explanation. I've made it several times, always using the proportions as instructed but varying the ingredients to what's on hand and it is always very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This soup is delicious. Well worth the time it took to make it. I used black beans instead of cranberry beans (which I could not find). I made it once with pancetta and once with bacon and both times it was just as good. This recipe goes in my favorites box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Great soup. Make it again for sure
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States