Chef John's Minestrone Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
This is a fantastic recipe that is so delicious. I did not have dried cranberry beans or canned garbanzos; used 2 cans red kidney and one can cannellini. Chef John's recipes are so good, I stick with what is written if I have everything listed in the recipe. If not, then substitutions are made out of necessity, primarily. This time, I did add some fresh oregano and rosemary because it is in my garden and fresh herbs always make recipes so vibrant. LOVED this soup -- but it makes ALOT OF FOOD! Oh, I did add 1/2 teaspoon of balsamic vinegar to the soup -- it's some thing I add to most of my Italian soups and sauces---
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2014
We loved it! I substituted pancetta with sausage and as chard is not available I used carrots. Also used a bit more pepper flakes to make the soup spicier. Thanks Chef John. Definitely going to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Excellent! Followed recipe exactly. The next time, I might leave out the garbanzo beans, just because I think the soup is hardy enough with out it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I just started growing Swiss chard this spring. When I saw this soup recipe, I just had to try it. It is so delicious. I pretty much followed the recipe but added sausage and fresh herbs. My husband wanted second bowl! My whole family loves this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I usually don't like minestrone soup that is served at most restaurants and I made this soup at the urging of my husband. I LOVE this soup. It wasn't as hard as I thought it might be and it does take some time to make. I watched the video and I made it exactly like he said (the first time I made it I added too much pasta, but it was still good). I used the Swiss chard as listed and although I don't think I had ever had Swiss chard before it really added to the dish. I have and will make this soup again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carmel, Indiana, USA
Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Awesome! Tasted amazing, added more veggies and stuff too it, I always do that when I make soup. I had never made it before so I needed some guidelines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This is one of the best soups I've ever made. I used red kidney beans and cannelini, and I had some spinach, so I skipped the chard this time, but will try it in the future, as it is so pretty and tasty. Since I used all canned beans and spinach, my cook time was shorter, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent soup. Instead of Swiss chard I used chopped spinach. The cranberry beans are great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Best hearty minestrone soup. Did not need the pasta. Delicious with all the fresh vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rolling Meadows, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I have made this soup about 4 times now and every time I make it I am surprised at the flavor. I could just eat the broth alone but adding all of the other yummys makes it that much more exciting. My husband does not like cabbage or beans but he asks me to make this a lot. Funny how you can get them to eat healthy and like it. The red pepper flakes give it a real kick so just know that 1tsp will give it some heat. I Love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Italian Wedding Soup

See how to make a comforting meatball and kale soup.

Chef John's Pork Wonton Soup

See how to make delicious pork wontons in a simple broth.

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States