Chef John's Meatless Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Love this recipe! I'm making it again for xmas dinner. This time I substituted half the mushrooms for lentils to boost up the protein content and the flavor came out just as nice. It's a wonderful vegetarian option to add to the Italian dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacki Z

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
My third time making these! The first go I didn't have time to overnight them in the fridge. The first time they formed nicely. The second and now the third, I had problems. I've discovered that if I start to form the balls right when I take them out of fridge, they crumble and fall apart. Then I discovered that if I let them sit out on the counter and get some of the chill out of them, they form and stick nicely. Next time I think I'll use the food processor rather than hand chop the mushrooms, I think that might help too. Phew, glad I found a solution since I made a double batch! So excited now for Christmas dinner - lasagnas (one meat and one veggie) and these "meatballs" and sauce. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These did not have the consistency of a meatball but the taste was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Berry

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
I made this and brought it to a party where everyone loved it. The only change I made was that I added fresh basil simply because I had it on hand. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by girlblue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Delicious but takes a while to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I absolutely love this! It was so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
When we stopped eating meat, one of the things that we missed the most was our turkey meatballs. These were absolutely delicious and we can once again enjoy a meatball sub!! Usually not a fan of "meatless" recipes, but these were great, both the texture and the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Ferencsik

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
It is quite tasty but I have to get used to the texture. It was a little different...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2014
Loves, love,love this recipe. I was looking for an alternative to store bought mock meatballs. These are way better and super easy to make. I did change it slightly. I used my milling blade on the oats and and gave the mushrooms a few spins in the nutribullet. They had a slightly softer texture then meat but the flavor is so amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babybelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Painesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Wow. A great meat free recipe. I omitted the parsley and used cilantro. I also used gluten free bread crumbs ( ground up matzo cracker). Well worth the work. I also used the same ingredients for an eggplant lasagna. It was awesome. A must try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hollister, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Meatless Meatballs

You really can make satisfying meatballs without the meat. See how it’s done!

Chef John's Ricotta Meatballs

See how to turn regular beef meatballs into a ricotta-filled sensation.

Chef John's Chicken Tikka Masala

Coconut milk, instead of cream, is the key to this classic chicken curry dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States