Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I am making it today 11/21/12. Made the wing stock last weekend. It turned out so great I simmered it for as long time and got 4 cups of beautiful looking and tasting gravy. I am so freaking excited!!!! My only problem now is how do I go about re-heating tomorrow without ruining it??? I want to add turkey drippings also... Well at least I have great tasting gravy this year. Will do this all the time now. I love you Chef John!!! Thanks so much for your videos and recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This recipe was very good and the instructional video was really helpful for those of us who are visual learners. I used two turkey legs instead of wings. Added some sage and rosemary along with the thyme. The finished product was a little too runny for my liking, so I removed a bit of the gravy and added some of the cooked carrots (not too many as you don't want orange gravy) onion and celery and about another tablespoon or so of flour. I used my smart stick hand blender and blended it all up and then put it back in the pot. I finely chopped a bit of the turkey leg meat and threw it in. Another shake or two of salt and it is delish and just the consistancy I like! I agree with jeniferken, it is time consuming but worth it! Update 11/13- I'm making again this year. Using three turkey legs and double the water to make the stock. I'm planning on putting it in the fridge overnight and making the gravy in the morning. I'll use the amount of stock the recipe calls for and put the rest in the freezer for later. Since you are making turkey stock in all but the last step (in which you are actually making the gravy) it's a natural stopping place if you are in a time crunch. If you use turkey legs you will NOT need to add other stock to get a good flavor. It will be pure turkey stock/gravy bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was my first successful gravy. Every year I try making gravy and end up opening the back up jar of gravy Linnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made this gravy so I don't have so much to do tomorrow and I had to come back to thank you for posting it. I made a couple of changes to fit what we like but it is going to be a big hit for Thanksgiving dinner! Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I agree it was a little time consuming but it was well worth it. The only thing I will change next time is to cook the flour in oil a little longer. Also, I added small amount of horseradish sauce at the end (only because I like a stronger test). This recipe is a keeper. I recommend to watch the move as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
This recipe was a hit with both me and my guests! I loved the fact I could make it a couple of days ahead of time and save the space on the stove. Like others said it is a little time consuming but having it done and out of the way was worth it. I made it exactly as written except in place of the cayenne pepper I used 1/4 tsp bhut jolokia powder which gave the gravy an unusually nice spicy taste. I ended up with a qt of gravy. Thanks Chef John I will be using this recipe again in the future!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
My first time making gravy, turned out great! A little time consuming but well worth it. I was soooo glad I wasn't running around trying to make gravy when the turkey was done. I was able to focus on heating the rest of the meal to serve. I would recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rio De Janeiro, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This gravy was sooo good! It made Thanksgiving dinner so much easier to serve knowing that I didn't have to make a gravy at the last minute. All of my friends and family loved it and were really impressed that I made it from scratch! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camspencer113

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Hey, Chef John! Thanks! Made this for Thanksgiving & was so pleased. Followed the recipe exactly & liked it BUT then cheated by adding more flour and butter (might sub some corn starch next time). I wanted a thicker 'gravy base' in order for the gravy to be 'just right' when ALL the pan juices were added at dinner time! Made it thicker than I meant to, but the results are worth repeating. Why? I placed just some of the 'gravy base' from this recipe into a medium sized, lined slow cooker a couple hours before dinner. When the turkey came out of the oven & was removed from the pan, the pan juices went into the slow cooker w/the 'gravy base.' After whisking the gravy mixture, it was just the perfect amount of thickness for my taste! If it hadn't been, I'd have had a touch of easy juggling to do: add more 'gravy base' if it was too thin, or add some chicken stock if it was too thick. Easy fixes! Added touch of balsamic & garlic. Later crocked the turkey bones; pulled the bones out in the morning; ran out of time & crocked the broth a whole day more. The next morning after that, added onions, parsnips, carrots - especially carrots O Best Beloved, etc. In the evening, I added the rest of the 'gravy base', whisked it, stirred in some frozen peas�� & heated it through. Finally added a bit of turkey to the pot just before serving (just enough time to warm it through so it wouldn't dry out). Best turkey soup I've ever had. That after making the easiest turkey-day gravy ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am the queen of gravy in my house and always am frantically stirring over the hot pan once the roast has come out of the oven. This recipe is a little time-consuming, but definitely worth the trouble given you get to make it ahead of time. It is truly smooth and velvety. My only modifications to the recipe were to up the quantity of turkey fat a little, to be used in the roux, and then season it very simply with salt and pepper, as is our family's taste. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Turkey Gravy

See how to make a super-simple turkey gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States