Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I will definitely use this as my standard gravy recipe - success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was awesome. I added a little dry sherry and it made it even better. It is definitely the way to go! EllenH
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was delicious and really eased up the time crunch before serving. I made it exactly as stated. It had an awesome flavor, color and smoothness. I will say though, that it tasted better before I froze it. I froze it for 5 days and then thawed it out, heated and served it. Some of the flavor seemed to get lost, which is the only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5. I will most definitely keep this and use it again, I'll just be sure to make it only a day ahead of time so I do not have to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Best gravy ever, and what a huge time saver getting it done the day before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
WOW, from now on this is the only way to make turkey gravy. The broth is so rich and flavorful and what a timesaver making it the day ahead of time. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is good, but for what it cost to make it's not good enough to make me want to fix it. You have the cost of the vegtables, turkey wings etc. then you have all the time boiling it. If I had the ingredients on hand and time to kill, then I might would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Absolutely Awesome, worthy of 10 stars. This was time consuming but I made the day before Thanksgiving to free up the last minute crazies. I used 4 1/2 cups of water and 3 1/2 cups of turkey stock (large box), totaling 8 cups of pre-recipe liquid and it yielded approx. 4 cups of finished gravy. I was concerned that 10 cups of plain water may leave an unflavorful gravy, glad I adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
excellent, i will make this gravy time and time again. good bye, lumps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I did use broth instead of water. The gravy was a little thin, and I had added extra flour since I had extra turkey fat and wanted lots of gravy. I put it in a crock pot to stay warm and knew it would get even thinner, but the flavor was good. I thickened it with a little cornstarch and water, and also put in some bouillon. Sure beats making gravy last minute! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
What a relief to have this done ahead of time. For 10 people I should've doubled the recipe. The gravy was bland and pale at first, so I used an immersion blender and added some of the vegetables and a little meat back in. Then it was tasty so I guess that means I should have cooked the stock longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menren

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States