Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Chef John, you are my hero. All these years I've been cooking the turkey giblets during the day to use with the broth and slaving over the hot stove at the last minute making my giblet gravy. I never thought of cooking inexpensive turkey parts for the fat content. What a brilliant idea and one I will always use. Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
Ok, read the reviews and decided to take the chance….Wow, it's great and so easy. Other than having to stick around the kitchen to keep an eye on things it's not much work. I used 4 wings, didn't think 2 would be enough plus mine looked smaller than chef's video wings. Added more carrot/onion but other than that followed the recipe, didn't use the thyme because I didn't have any fresh. My batch reduced down to 5 cups, despite a low simmer, so I added a cup of water to take it back up to 6. Definitely a keeper & I have sent it on to some other friends so they can try it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
I made this gravy today, in preparation for next week's Thanksgiving dinner. I must say, it really IS the best gravy I've ever made! I followed the recipe exactly, but did thicken the gravy just a bit more with some corn starch. I will freeze it and reheat in my crock pot on Thanksgiving - thanks for sharing this easy, time-saving recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This recipe is fabulous! I just made this in advance so I won't have to mess with making gravy on Thanksgiving day. It's going in the freezer and I'll take it out a day in advance to thaw. I will reheat it in a crock pot to save precious burner space. ;) After boiling for 4 hours (don't skip on time), and staining, I put the liquid in a big glass bowl in the fridge over night. Next day, skimmed all fat off the top (reserving 2 Tbs) made the gravy. Is cooling now to go into a BIG container foe the freezer. Can't wait to enjoy this gravy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Conneaut Lake, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I just finished making this. Last year I decided to try a new gravy recipe on Thanksgiving and for the first time ever, I had to toss everything and depend on jarred gravy. Not fun and most embarrassing!! Well, it took a few hours, but no rush since Thanksgiving is a couple weeks away. The only thing I changed was used 4 carrots and 4 celery stalks and used 8 cups of chicken stock and 2 cups of water per other reviewers. After simmering for the 3 hours, I only ended up with 4 cups of stock, not 6. I just added 2 more cups of water with 2 tsps. of chicken bouillon. It came out smooth as silk and my husband's eyes actually sparkled when he tasted it. He was very impressed and I think it beat every gravy we've made for 31 years of marriage. Hubby said it probably won't last until Thanksgiving. I plan on freezing it and thawing that day to save the craziness trying to make gravy with the entire family watching and waiting for dinner to be ready. I highly recommend trying this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libertyville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The gravy was amazing. Our gravy is great each year, but it is so hectic that last 15 minutes before serving. We plan to do our turkey on are XL Green Egg smoker again this year and now I have my gravy set aside in the freezer. I used 4 turkey wings and 2 turkey thighs. I doubled the onion, celery and carrots. I added enough water to cover the meat. I also doubled the roux. I had less than a tablespoon of turkey fat, so I just added a little more butter and a bit of oil. Thanks so much! Gravy is so important and having it all done ahead of time is a huge relief.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I make a lot of mashed potatoes and never seem to have gravy to accompany them. Not any more! I make this and freeze it in 1.5 c freezer bags, then when I make mashed potatoes for dinner during the week, I take out a bag the night before and viola, done and done. If I use boil-in-bags, I don't bother thawing, just toss it in the potato pot while they're boiling, it thaws as the potatoes cook! This gravy IS amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
xxx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I've been doing this for several years but it's not the only gravy for the meal; it's a supplement to the gravy I make when the turkey comes out of the oven. We love hot turkey sandwiches here so need gravy to go a long way. If you're going to use this as your only gravy, you have to either up the turkey wings to four, or cut back on the cold water to about 6 cups in order to achieve a full-flavoured gravy. Downside to reducing the water is that you will end up with much less gravy. And, to the person who commented about frozen gravy being separated upon thawing, simply add a couple of tablespoons of water, heat, and whisk it well to recombine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I have made ths recipe for years. The only difference is that I use 6 or 8 turkey wings because there isn't much fat on a wing, and I use chicken or turkey broth instead of the water. I also add some white wine as part of the liquid. I usually make the gravy about a month ahead of the holidays because it freezes well. When it comes time use it, I put it in a crockpot, thaw it out and heat it up, saving stove space. It's my favorite gravy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Turkey Gravy

See how to make a super-simple turkey gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States