Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
instead of discarding the solids, i used my food processor until its smooth and mixed it with the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
This makes hosting so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jannibojoly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
Just finished making this recipe took four to four and one half hours. Instead of water I used chicken broth. Couldn't find wings so used thighs and drumsticks. So delicious. Time consuming but worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I think this is an excellent recipe and can save someone extra stress on Turkey Day. As with some other reviews I agree it can be time consuming and slightly wasteful, so I have prepared this a week prior to and combined it with a recipe for 'Turkey Wild Rice Soup' from allrecipes. I was not able to find any turkey wings or legs (I live in a small town!) so I bought a small bone-in turkey breast to use. I cooked it with the vegetables then cut the breast meat off for the soup. I used the bones for the broth and then saved the'discarded' vegetables for the soup. Both recipes turned out really delicious. Thanks for the great idea and the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I don't think the gravy can be ready in 2 1/4 hours since it asks you to cook the wings (I used 2 turkey legs) for 3 hours. Instead of discarding the vegetables I pureed them and added them to the broth. I also added a bit of Better than Bouillon turkey base. Very tasty gravy. Didn't add any salt - I'll let diners add their own. So nice to get this done before Thanksgiving. Just read lutzflcat's review and she did some of the things I did also. I didn't add 10 cups of water, maybe 8.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Very good and loved having it made ahead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
This recipe is very good. When I grocery shopped this year however I could not find turkey wings in either of my grocery stores.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I made this recipe last Christmas for the first time. It turned out great and it's my go-to gravy from here on out. I couldn't find turkey wings so I used two turkey legs. One other change is that I only used 3-1/2 cups of water and 3-1/2 cups of turkey stock. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Working Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Dorado Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Made this last year for Thanksgiving first time in 34 years. I finally made gravy that turned out. No help from family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: South Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The best gravy EVER!!!!! It is worth the extra time and not complicated at all. I could eat this plain:) LoVe It!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYHILLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States