Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
The best gravy EVER!!!!! It is worth the extra time and not complicated at all. I could eat this plain:) LoVe It!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAPPYHILLS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
easy enough in advance
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
No more fretting over gravy at the last minute for me! Not being a big gravy fan, it's not the thing I do best. This is my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I was excited to do a make-ahead gravy for Thanksgiving, but this ended up being a lot of trouble. I lost so much volume while simmering that I ended up going to the store to buy turkey stock. As other reviewers suggested, two turkey wings didn't seem to be enough for a decent stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonah's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Took forever. No flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
I could not find turkey wings so I used a couple of big meaty necks. I missed the pan drippings. I see one reviewer adds her drippings later. I might give that a try. The gravy was very good. It is labor intensive but having that component ready at meal time is a good trade off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
We smoked our turkey and wanted the side dishes prepared in advance to have less clutter on Thanksgiving. This recipe was perfect! Will keep it on our menu for future holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
followed other poster's advice, and used 4 wings..also added a package of trader Joe's savory turkey broth concentrate, after deciding there was not enough turkey flavor when it was done...other than that, followed the rest of the directions....everyone loved it, and said it complimented everything on the Thanksgiving dinner menu...I strongly advise using 4 wings, then tasting for depth of flavor...as is, 4 stars..after adjustments, 5
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minkyblack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I discovered this recipe this year and made it for Thanksgiving. I used it again for our Christmas turkey. We couldn't find turkey wings at the grocery store, so I used 3 drumsticks and it worked beautifully to make a flavorful stock. This is a great timesaver and even my mom, who never eat meat or poultry, tried the gravy and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I will definitely use this as my standard gravy recipe - success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Turkey Gravy

See how to make a super-simple turkey gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States