Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is a very good recipe. I agree it was a little time consuming but it was well worth it. The only thing I will change next time is to cook the flour in oil a little longer. Also, I added small amount of horseradish sauce at the end (only because I like a stronger test). This recipe is a keeper. I recommend to watch the move as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I am making it today 11/21/12. Made the wing stock last weekend. It turned out so great I simmered it for as long time and got 4 cups of beautiful looking and tasting gravy. I am so freaking excited!!!! My only problem now is how do I go about re-heating tomorrow without ruining it??? I want to add turkey drippings also... Well at least I have great tasting gravy this year. Will do this all the time now. I love you Chef John!!! Thanks so much for your videos and recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRICKS2721

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I just made this gravy so I don't have so much to do tomorrow and I had to come back to thank you for posting it. I made a couple of changes to fit what we like but it is going to be a big hit for Thanksgiving dinner! Happy Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
This was my first successful gravy. Every year I try making gravy and end up opening the back up jar of gravy Linnie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
This recipe was very good and the instructional video was really helpful for those of us who are visual learners. I used two turkey legs instead of wings. Added some sage and rosemary along with the thyme. The finished product was a little too runny for my liking, so I removed a bit of the gravy and added some of the cooked carrots (not too many as you don't want orange gravy) onion and celery and about another tablespoon or so of flour. I used my smart stick hand blender and blended it all up and then put it back in the pot. I finely chopped a bit of the turkey leg meat and threw it in. Another shake or two of salt and it is delish and just the consistancy I like! I agree with jeniferken, it is time consuming but worth it! Update 11/13- I'm making again this year. Using three turkey legs and double the water to make the stock. I'm planning on putting it in the fridge overnight and making the gravy in the morning. I'll use the amount of stock the recipe calls for and put the rest in the freezer for later. Since you are making turkey stock in all but the last step (in which you are actually making the gravy) it's a natural stopping place if you are in a time crunch. If you use turkey legs you will NOT need to add other stock to get a good flavor. It will be pure turkey stock/gravy bliss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
First, I must say that I don't think make-ahead gravy ever tastes as good as making it from the pan drippings, but it's a tremendous time saver for that time-consuming Thanksgiving meal. Maybe my turkey wings weren't "large" enough, I don't know, but the broth did not have a lot of flavor even though I used a box (quart) of turkey stock as part of the 10 cups of liquid. Something I rarely do when making a recipe is modify it too much first time, but I found it necessary here. I added some Better Than Bouillon Turkey Base, some poultry seasoning, finely chopped wing meat, and some of the roasted veggies which I'd pureed in the blender. It all came together well, and I ended up with a flavorful gravy. I made another recipe last year from this site, but with these modifications, I think this is a better recipe. I have to wonder if 2 turkey wings is enough to flavor 10 cups of water, and in the future, I will use more wings and some necks if I can get them. Don't like changing a recipe this much, but after tasting the gravy, it was necessary. All was good in the end, and this 4-star rating is based on the tweaks I made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Photo by jeniferken
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
This gravy is amazing. A little time consuming but worth having that extra gravy on Thanksgiving. I ended up with 7 cups of gravy at the end because I used 14 cups of water at the broth-making stage. That's how much it took to completely cover the wings and veg. That's the only change I made. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA

Displaying results 51-57 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Turkey Gravy

See how to make a super-simple turkey gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States