Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Absolutely Awesome, worthy of 10 stars. This was time consuming but I made the day before Thanksgiving to free up the last minute crazies. I used 4 1/2 cups of water and 3 1/2 cups of turkey stock (large box), totaling 8 cups of pre-recipe liquid and it yielded approx. 4 cups of finished gravy. I was concerned that 10 cups of plain water may leave an unflavorful gravy, glad I adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
excellent, i will make this gravy time and time again. good bye, lumps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I did use broth instead of water. The gravy was a little thin, and I had added extra flour since I had extra turkey fat and wanted lots of gravy. I put it in a crock pot to stay warm and knew it would get even thinner, but the flavor was good. I thickened it with a little cornstarch and water, and also put in some bouillon. Sure beats making gravy last minute! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
What a relief to have this done ahead of time. For 10 people I should've doubled the recipe. The gravy was bland and pale at first, so I used an immersion blender and added some of the vegetables and a little meat back in. Then it was tasty so I guess that means I should have cooked the stock longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is outstanding! Definitely time consuming but very worth it. This will be a staple in my home! Couldn't find plain wings so I ended up using smoked turkey wings and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I grew up with jar gravy, and have never been a gravy person. But I tried this last year and it was fantastic. I didn't want to buy extra wings so I just used the neck. I also ended up using pan drippings day of instead of make-ahead (having made the broth ahead and having messed up getting those drippings). Making again this year so family can try. I also used it to make turkey pot pie; tossed carrots, peas, and leftover turkey in the gravy and baked in pie crust. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Amazing, you never can go wrong with Chef John! Thanksgiving to all, and thank you so much Chef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
What I like about John's recipe the most is the time-saving advice. I learned a little bit more about making gravy that I can incorporate into my everyday gravy. The video was most helpful. I did modify it on the first go by using two cartons of chicken broth instead of water. I also added a little sherry cooking wine. Garlic salt I find to be a little tastier than plain salt, and added a few more cloves of garlic in the stock. The house smelled divine when it was cooking. On the day that I need the gravy, I will add some drippings for a little extra boost in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just finished making this gravy! Gravy has always been a down fall for me, not this year. Tasting this gravy, it was delicious. I may tweak it in the future, but I felt like a good clean gravy this year. I am happy I won't have to stress over gravy this year. Only thing I has to do was add chicken broth, because I did not have 6 cups of broth when I strained the pot. But no worries I had organic low sodium chicken broth. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Made this gravy yesterday, finishing today, and I agree with majority. Did not quite have the taste of "the real thing". I agree, next time I will add broth instead of water, and maybe use chicken legs versus wings. Two wings did not add enough flavor. Also I ended up with about 3 cups broth. I will freeze and add to it. However it did come out smooth and velvety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States