Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I just love your video instructions and your recipes. They are the best. I will definitely be using this one for this Thanksgiving. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lougagne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
I haven't exactly done it this way (I think the idea of buying extra turkey wings and roasting them is a bit silly), but I have always taken the neck and giblets and made broth with onion and carrots, then made my gravy with the roux and broth as he describes, then poured in some of the pan drippings (avoiding the fat) after the bird comes out of the oven. I'm sure this gravy tastes good as he makes it (although personally I would leave out the thyme and garlic), but you can abbreviate the process, use the parts most people simply throw out, and not use up precious oven time and space.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Franklin, Tennessee, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
I had a rotisserie chicken and threw the carcass and leftovers in a pot and made stock. I continued with this recipe and made the most wonderful tasting gravy. Everyone raved about it. I will definitely be making this again. Thanks Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I'm going to rate Chef John's recipe because it is virtually what I have done every year for many years other than also roast the neck with all the veggies too before simmering them for hours. I agree that two wings would not seem to add enough flavor. I save about 2 cups of my turkey stock for basting my turkey in the oven on the big day and make my gravy a bit thicker so I can pour some the pan drippings into it and into my dressing before placing that dish in the oven. No one would guess my dressing is not cooked in the bird! I don't mind a bit having my gravy done ahead of time, either. Great time saver when you really need it in the last hour trying to get this 'labor of love' meal on the table!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aunt tilly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
5 STARS? Yes it's that good!!! takes a lot of time but seriously, I had the best turkey gravy in the middle of October without all the other work. I poured this golden gravy over some wild rice burgers with sauteed mushrooms and hey, best. day. ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
This gravy was amazing! It does take some time, but it is well worth it. I followed the recipe to the tee other than adding some fresh rosemary and thyme at the end. One thing to keep in mind is to make sure you cook the flour long enough...I didn't do it the first time and it was wrecked, however I trust Chef John as I have tried many of his recipes and decided to give it another shot. We deep fry our turkey and this is the perfect gravy for us as we don't have the standard drippings. Me and my family all found the gravy to be the best turkey gravy we've had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am the queen of gravy in my house and always am frantically stirring over the hot pan once the roast has come out of the oven. This recipe is a little time-consuming, but definitely worth the trouble given you get to make it ahead of time. It is truly smooth and velvety. My only modifications to the recipe were to up the quantity of turkey fat a little, to be used in the roux, and then season it very simply with salt and pepper, as is our family's taste. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Hey, Chef John! Thanks! Made this for Thanksgiving & was so pleased. Followed the recipe exactly & liked it BUT then cheated by adding more flour and butter (might sub some corn starch next time). I wanted a thicker 'gravy base' in order for the gravy to be 'just right' when ALL the pan juices were added at dinner time! Made it thicker than I meant to, but the results are worth repeating. Why? I placed just some of the 'gravy base' from this recipe into a medium sized, lined slow cooker a couple hours before dinner. When the turkey came out of the oven & was removed from the pan, the pan juices went into the slow cooker w/the 'gravy base.' After whisking the gravy mixture, it was just the perfect amount of thickness for my taste! If it hadn't been, I'd have had a touch of easy juggling to do: add more 'gravy base' if it was too thin, or add some chicken stock if it was too thick. Easy fixes! Added touch of balsamic & garlic. Later crocked the turkey bones; pulled the bones out in the morning; ran out of time & crocked the broth a whole day more. The next morning after that, added onions, parsnips, carrots - especially carrots O Best Beloved, etc. In the evening, I added the rest of the 'gravy base', whisked it, stirred in some frozen peas�� & heated it through. Finally added a bit of turkey to the pot just before serving (just enough time to warm it through so it wouldn't dry out). Best turkey soup I've ever had. That after making the easiest turkey-day gravy ever! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This gravy was sooo good! It made Thanksgiving dinner so much easier to serve knowing that I didn't have to make a gravy at the last minute. All of my friends and family loved it and were really impressed that I made it from scratch! Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camspencer113

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
Made this for Thanksgiving dinner. Took the advise of some previous reviews and tweaked the recipe a little. I felt that 10 cups of water was too much for a couple of turkey wings and adjusted to 31/2 cups of water and 3 1/2 cups of canned chicken stock. I added a little celery salt to taste and ended up with a recipe that I will be using every Thanksgiving. What I really loved about this recipe is that I made my gravy on Tuesday, put it in a quart jar and put in the refrigerator, all I did on Thanksgiving was heat it up in a saucepan, saved me a lot of time and work during those last minutes of crunch time. Thanks for a great recipe and great technique.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patricia Canerdy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Flat Rock, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Turkey Gravy

See how to make a super-simple turkey gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States