Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Amazing, you never can go wrong with Chef John! Thanksgiving to all, and thank you so much Chef!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
What I like about John's recipe the most is the time-saving advice. I learned a little bit more about making gravy that I can incorporate into my everyday gravy. The video was most helpful. I did modify it on the first go by using two cartons of chicken broth instead of water. I also added a little sherry cooking wine. Garlic salt I find to be a little tastier than plain salt, and added a few more cloves of garlic in the stock. The house smelled divine when it was cooking. On the day that I need the gravy, I will add some drippings for a little extra boost in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Just finished making this gravy! Gravy has always been a down fall for me, not this year. Tasting this gravy, it was delicious. I may tweak it in the future, but I felt like a good clean gravy this year. I am happy I won't have to stress over gravy this year. Only thing I has to do was add chicken broth, because I did not have 6 cups of broth when I strained the pot. But no worries I had organic low sodium chicken broth. Thank you Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Made this gravy yesterday, finishing today, and I agree with majority. Did not quite have the taste of "the real thing". I agree, next time I will add broth instead of water, and maybe use chicken legs versus wings. Two wings did not add enough flavor. Also I ended up with about 3 cups broth. I will freeze and add to it. However it did come out smooth and velvety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
First word: Wow! We can have gravy in the freezer for everyday cooking all year now! But I must say I was astonished that CJ tells us to throw away veggies - and the meat? Having been raised by parents who grew up in the depression, I couldn't do that of course. So I followed the recipe, but changed the method a bit. First, I sliced the onion in very thin half-slices and a finer slice of carrots and diced celery. My store had 3 large wings per pack, which I thought was perfect. Roasted in cast-iron skillet for the full hour, flipping wings once. Then into my old standard-size crock pot; filled w. water + 1 small can chicken broth, 3 big pinches dried thyme (1 per wing) and 3 large cloves garlic minced fine. Set on low, covered, all night, about 12 hrs. total. Let cool awhile, removed skin, fatty bits and bones, and had a platter of tender meat for an easy start to dinner or to save for post-holiday soup. There was so little fat floating on top that I didn't bother to skim. Just pureed broth/veggies in blender (in 4 batches) and strained. Set aside 1-1/2 c. to replace half the water in my dressing, leaving 4+ c. for gravy. This was already silky from having the fat already incorporated, so for the roux I just used 3T salted butter and 1/3 c. flour. Whisked over heat until it was the same lovely caramel color as the broth and whisked together. Velvet! Planned to add the drippings from the bird for final seasonings, but it doesn't even need it - I could just drink this stuff!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
First of all, this recipe's listed timings are WAY off: It says oven-cook the veggies and wings for 45-60 minutes, then cook the main mixture 'until the meat falls off the bones -- about 3 hours'. That hardly works out to 'ready in 2 1/4 hours'! Second: The recipe is wasteful -- insofar as it says 'discard all the solids' from the main cooking. Two issues here: The fattier matter is excellent food for dogs -- yours or a neighbor's. The rest -- the vegetable matter and a large share of the meat -- can be saved and combined with boiled rice (and some jalapeno or sereno pepper) for an excellent, easy-to-prepare single-dish supper. 'Hate to say it, Chef John, but this is a gravy for wimps! Its so-mild flavor is a mere hint of what, with a little more effort, it can be. After the first straining, add back as much meat as can easily be retrieved from the 'discard' bowl. And, after using a cleaver to break off the marrow-rich bones' ends, add back both bones and ends. And add in the rest of the liquid beyond the six cups already used. You may even want to gently whisk in a bit more flour while you are reducing this enhanced mixture to your desired thickness. (Keep in mind it will thicken more as it cools.) Strain again -- saving the meat for the dogs, or to be recombined w/ the veggies,and discard the bones. What you end up with is a MUCH more flavorful gravy. BTW, Don't skimp on garlic: Two cloves seldom get ANY job done. I used eight in this recipe. Dried thyme's OK, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Java, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
We always deep fry our turkey so there are never any drippings to make a good gravy. Just finished making this gravy and it is out of this world. It is worth the time and effort to make this. I am thrilled to have finally gotten a recipe like this that I can make ahead and prepare it when I want and not have to worry about it on Thanksgiving Day. Hurray!!! I am thankful for you Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
Just made Chef John's gravey for this Thanksgiving and it is amazing! Wish I had found it years ago! I did add some of the meat from the wings back into the gravy as I like it little meaty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
I'm not a new cook, but gravy and its timing on a holiday, with a house full of people, is always what makes me sweat. I've looked at this recipe for some time and finally tried it. Bless you, Chef John! I've just finished it and the flavor is wonderful. I'm sure with the addition of some of the Thanksgiving turkey's goodness it can only get better. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
Chef John, you are my hero. All these years I've been cooking the turkey giblets during the day to use with the broth and slaving over the hot stove at the last minute making my giblet gravy. I never thought of cooking inexpensive turkey parts for the fat content. What a brilliant idea and one I will always use. Thanks and Happy Thanksgiving to you all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grammie Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Eureka, California, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Turkey Gravy

See how to make a super-simple turkey gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States