Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This was delicious and really eased up the time crunch before serving. I made it exactly as stated. It had an awesome flavor, color and smoothness. I will say though, that it tasted better before I froze it. I froze it for 5 days and then thawed it out, heated and served it. Some of the flavor seemed to get lost, which is the only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5. I will most definitely keep this and use it again, I'll just be sure to make it only a day ahead of time so I do not have to freeze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Best gravy ever, and what a huge time saver getting it done the day before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
WOW, from now on this is the only way to make turkey gravy. The broth is so rich and flavorful and what a timesaver making it the day ahead of time. THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisheee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bowie, Maryland, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This is good, but for what it cost to make it's not good enough to make me want to fix it. You have the cost of the vegtables, turkey wings etc. then you have all the time boiling it. If I had the ingredients on hand and time to kill, then I might would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hastings, Florida, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Absolutely Awesome, worthy of 10 stars. This was time consuming but I made the day before Thanksgiving to free up the last minute crazies. I used 4 1/2 cups of water and 3 1/2 cups of turkey stock (large box), totaling 8 cups of pre-recipe liquid and it yielded approx. 4 cups of finished gravy. I was concerned that 10 cups of plain water may leave an unflavorful gravy, glad I adjusted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
excellent, i will make this gravy time and time again. good bye, lumps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is a good basic recipe. I did use broth instead of water. The gravy was a little thin, and I had added extra flour since I had extra turkey fat and wanted lots of gravy. I put it in a crock pot to stay warm and knew it would get even thinner, but the flavor was good. I thickened it with a little cornstarch and water, and also put in some bouillon. Sure beats making gravy last minute! I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
What a relief to have this done ahead of time. For 10 people I should've doubled the recipe. The gravy was bland and pale at first, so I used an immersion blender and added some of the vegetables and a little meat back in. Then it was tasty so I guess that means I should have cooked the stock longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by menren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This is outstanding! Definitely time consuming but very worth it. This will be a staple in my home! Couldn't find plain wings so I ended up using smoked turkey wings and it is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I grew up with jar gravy, and have never been a gravy person. But I tried this last year and it was fantastic. I didn't want to buy extra wings so I just used the neck. I also ended up using pan drippings day of instead of make-ahead (having made the broth ahead and having messed up getting those drippings). Making again this year so family can try. I also used it to make turkey pot pie; tossed carrots, peas, and leftover turkey in the gravy and baked in pie crust. It was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Turkey Gravy

See how to make a super-simple turkey gravy.

Chef John’s Grilled Game Hens

This spicy, creamy, garlicky marinade is great for game hens or chicken pieces.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States