Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
This was a hit. It took some work, especially skimming the fat but it was delicious and everyone agreed that it was better than the 'other' gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Worst gravy I've ever made. So disappointed in it. I've never used flour before to thicken gravy, always cornstarch and I think the flour is what ruined it for me. Had to doctor it A LOT to make it edible. Had no taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
"Make ahead gravy" made me nervous, but I will turn to this recipe year after year now! Plus, knowing I had enough for a crowd AND leftovers and I didn't have the stress of making ALL the gravy the day of were all pure bonuses. I did use more wings than the recipe called for, which further deepened the flavor. And on the day of, I made a small batch of fresh gravy with drippings and whisked it in. Delicious and recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
perfect. loved it. shredded the turkey meat and added it to the gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2014
Takes along time to make but was well worth it! I am going to make a double batch next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was just wonderful. Included the 2 cloves of garlic. Instead of 10 cups cold water, used 4 cups turkey broth and 2 cups of of water. (added more broth, depending on thickness and taste in the end). I seasoned the wings before roasting with salt pepper and poultry seasoning I did not include extra salt and pepper while simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
This was the best gravy ever. I always panic over the last minute making gravy. This was wonderful to make ahead of time and just heat up day of Thanksgiving. Followed all directions, but used 4 turkey wings and didn't add as much water substituted turkey/chicken soup I already had made, also college Inn turkey broth would be good. But was a pleasure to be stress free day of dinner and not worry my gravy would be too thin or not tasty enough. As everyone else has said you can tweek it to your own liking. 5 STARS. Marie G.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Simply amazing! I had a 23 lb turkey with huge wings and figured why not try this since we discard the wings anyway. Well, it was the best gravy we ever had! I followed the recipe almost to the letter. The wings were quite large and yielded plenty of fat (5 Tbs) and stock. So much that I used only 2 tbs of butter. The 10 cups of water was perfect…it reduced itself to 6 cups after simmering for the 3 hours just as the recipe said it would. Seeing the assembly process on video was a huge help for us novice gravy makers. Added the flour to the fat and whisked like in the video and wala…it started to look just like Chef Johns! Slowly added the stock and watched the miracle of grave forming right before my very eyes! Thickened it up a bit with a little more simmering, added some salt and pepper, popped in the fridge…DONE! Had to email this link to everyone at the dinner. Can’t thank you enough for this first gravy success I ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Everyone loved this when I served it up yesterday with Thanksgiving dinner. I made it the day before, buy only used half the recommended liquid, ending up with a thick pudding-like consistency. When the turkey was done, I pulled out my "gravy pudding" and whisked it with the juices from the turkey - about five cups of it, and then brought it to a simmer. Everyone at dinner commented on the great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Great!!! I will definitely make this again. It made Thanksgiving so much easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Make-Ahead Turkey Gravy

Save your sanity on Thanksgiving Day by making rich turkey gravy in advance!

Chef John's Boneless Whole Turkey

Watch Chef John bone, stuff, roll, and tie up a turkey.

Savory Turkey Gravy

Watch how easy it is to make homemade turkey gravy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States