Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This has become a staple for holiday and birthday meals!! We love it!! - Kimberly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Turned out great! I doubled the crust, and only used a 12 oz package of pasta, and subbed soy sauce for the Worcestershire sauce since that's what I had on hand. it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah13

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This is very good! I was looking for a mac and cheese recipe that didn't call for processed cheese, and I've enjoyed Chef John's recipes previously. I'll make it again, though I'll play with the spices a little as not quite perfect blend yet for my taste buds. However, I will halve the recipe as this makes more than 6 servings! I bet the leftovers will be yummy though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
First of all Chef John, I would like to thank you for teaching me how to make a roux! I now use this as my base for thickening all kinds of sauces, very useful indeed. My family voted your macaroni and cheese as one of the top dishes of the week. It was tied with the baked teriyaki chicken from Ms. Collins (also on this site). Your dish was very delicious and easy to make. I gave it four stars as I had to subtract one because I did make some alterations. I did not use thyme, because no one in my family likes it. Instead I seasoned it with garlic and some red chili flakes. I didn't have elbow macaroni and substituted with bowties (though I think that makes little difference). Also I did not have panko bread crumbs, so I made my own with a day old loaf of french bread (I also think this makes little difference to the original recipe). I added some chopped ham because my husband loves the combination of ham and cheese. Oh and I couldn't get sharp cheddar cheese and used mild instead. All in all, it came out yummy! Side dishes were green beans with bacon and a scarlet runner bean salad. I will be putting this in my recipe box to be used again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goldana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is a good mac and cheese dish. Next time I will not add any Thyme. I did not use the ground thyme but the leaves and I could definitely taste it throughout the dish. It was kind of strong. My kids and husband thought the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I'll make it again, minus the Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
LOVE CHEF JOHN! BUT...the sauce needs to be doubled OR as John suggested use 1/2 amount of pasta... VERY VERY DRY... but could be great with a few modifications...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I haven't tried many mac and cheese recipes because after we tried this one, it became our go-to. The only modification I make is to reduce the cayenne by half: while the adults like it full strength, it's a bit much for our little one. I make a full batch and portion it into 3 single-serving lasagna baking dishes: I cook one and put the other two in the freezer. It freezes well, which seems important for this recipe because it is about a 1.5 hour time commitment, at least for this beginning cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Wow! Tried this recipe and it was fantastic! The only thing I changed was the bread crumbs. I like crushed barbecue potato chipson my mac and cheese. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
When I first had stared with the original seaonings it had really strong taste I am not sure what is was but I had to had a lot more cheese and a a lot more salt it still had the spicy kick to it though.Also, the cheese sauce had came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States