Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The first time I made this macaroni and cheese I was a little concerned about the spices, but it came out beautifully and tasted DELICIOUS! This recipe is a keeper! The spices enhance the flavor of the cheese and are not overpowering. Personally, I like to use a variety of cheddar cheeses and I use less noodles than the recipe calls for to make the macaroni extra cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this tonight - was v good but next time I would make more sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
A very good Mac and cheese! Loved the spices in this. The thyme, and Dijon make it taste so grown up and the crunchy topping can't be beat! Good recipe. Made exactly as written, but cut the recipe in half since there were only 2 of us eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Even my grown son enjoyed it, he doesn't like macaroni, but this was different! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This stuff is luscious. I made it as written except without the spices or worsterschire since I didn't have any on hand, and I doubled the sauce since someone mentioned it wasn't that saucy. We love our mac n cheese saucy, and everyone thought it turned out perfect. I'm sure the spices would have added some great flavor, so I'll try to include next time. I took this to our Christmas Eve gathering and everyone said it was amazing. I'm excited to try it with the spices, and then again with some other cheeses just to mix it up! Thanks for the great recipe! I definitely won't need to look elsewhere for a mac n cheese recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
The best Mac n cheese ever! Can't stay out of it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious! Very easy and kid-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Honestly, I do not get the high ratings for this Mac and Cheese. The only thing I changed was using about 12 oz macaroni noodles as other reviews suggested. The bottom line is that this dish was dry, bland and tasteless. I have tried some other recipes that are much creamier and tastier - definitely would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexBell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawnie417
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! I don't review much recipes, and this is one worth to review! Please read! :) I wanted to use the 16 oz. of elbow macaroni, but also wanted it cheesy as well. So I "almost" doubled the wet ingredients (for the sauce). I found this to be a PERFECT RATIO for the 16 oz. macaroni. I used 3/4 cup butter, about 3/4 cup flour , 5 cups cheese total (I use half sharp cheddar grated myself and half regular cheddar) (reserving 1.5 cups of cheese for the top) and 5 cups of milk. I adjust the seasonings as accordingly as well! **I never add the nutmeg. I'm a bit scared putting nutmeg in this dish, even if it's just a pinch! LOL **Instead of the dijon mustard I use the mustard powder, and only use half the amount it states (only because I don't know how much of a mustard flavor it will pick up) **I up the panko bread crumbs to 1 cup, and the melted butter to 2 TBs. The crust from that is amazing. **I'm not a big fan of too much thyme, so I used italian seasonings instead. ** The cayenne pepper is great in this, but I usually half it if kids are eating it in case they're fussy. I have also sprinkled on crushed red pepper flakes instead. **I do not use ALL sharp cheddar cheese. I use half sharp (freshly grated myself), and half regular cheddar!!! **DO add the worsherchire sauce! This is soooooo good! I will never want to try another type of mac n' cheese recipe ever. Thank you for reading! :) ** I included a photo and it's photo #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was not that great. I can barely taste the cheese in this. It was edible, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States