Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was great. I too used 12 oz of macaroni. 16 oz would be too much I think for the ratio of sauce. The spices were spot on. I did not put the cheese on top of the panko. Not my thing. The crunchy panko was just right. I put the extra chees underneath. You must whisk the sauce fairly constantly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T and felt it was only "okay". It's not something ill make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I love the combination of spices used that make it smell and taste so wonderful. It's a true comfort food, especially on a cold night. My fiance loved it and we will definitely be making this one again! I have been trying many different recipes to find a good baked mac and cheese, but have never come across anything very tasty, until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious made as is! I watched the video and used 12oz of pasta (about 1.5 cups, dry). Next time I will try with 8oz for a creamier mac n cheese. Also, while I did turn off and remove the roux mix from the burner to add in the cheese, my sauce came out a little grainy--after baking for 20 minutes it was barely noticeable. From reading other reviews, it seems to have been due to the cheeses I used (four cheese mexican blend and sharp cheddar--both already shredded) or I added too much cheese in to the sauce (started with adding 1 full cup and then by the 1/2 cup). Another review says the cheese should be added in slowly, 1/4 cup at a time. I will try this recipe again, adding the cheese in smaller increments and maybe even shredding the cheeses myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Omg! I used 5 year aged white cheddar. Used ALL of it in the sauce, and added extra with a bit of reg marble to the crust for color. Nothing left!! Looking forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is my go to dish for casual dinner parties. I have young kids and whenever we have other families over, this is what I serve. People love it. The only suggestion I have is to double the breadcrumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
The first time I made this macaroni and cheese I was a little concerned about the spices, but it came out beautifully and tasted DELICIOUS! This recipe is a keeper! The spices enhance the flavor of the cheese and are not overpowering. Personally, I like to use a variety of cheddar cheeses and I use less noodles than the recipe calls for to make the macaroni extra cheesy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Made this tonight - was v good but next time I would make more sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
A very good Mac and cheese! Loved the spices in this. The thyme, and Dijon make it taste so grown up and the crunchy topping can't be beat! Good recipe. Made exactly as written, but cut the recipe in half since there were only 2 of us eating it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Prairie Epicurian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Even my grown son enjoyed it, he doesn't like macaroni, but this was different! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States