Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as described. It was ok, nothing special. Rather flat tasting. The cheese sauce did taste quite good on it's own but once it was mixed in with the macaroni and baked, the flavor got lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fl_diner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Finally found a Mac & cheese recipe that my hubby liked. He actually preferred that Blue box stuff till this! Highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I have been trying to find a Mac and cheese recipe that had flavor and cheesiness and this is definitely it! Watching the video he created is also quite helpful. Definitely a hit with my husband and child!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I am a huge fan of Chef John. But this was just ok to me. Did not like the thyme, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mustard in it. My husband said he wanted to taste more cheddar cheese. I think mustard and Worcestershire sauce overpowered it so he could not taste cheese. I am sorry but this is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Fantasty
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So tasty! I swapped out 2 cups of cooked pasta with 2 cooks of cooked cauliflower. It turned out creamy, cheesy and less guilty. The crust is perfect! Excellent recipe. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I just made this for dinner. It was delicious. The only change I made was to use Italian flavour bread crumbs since that was all I had. My husband who has NEVER liked home made mac and cheese LOVED this. Thanks Chef John for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Love this recipe - made it many times. I just tried mixing it up as part of a beer themed menu for superbowl - wow, a totally different flavor! Replace 1 cup of milk with 1 cup of amber beer and add some bacon. Whoa! To the people who hated the thyme flavor, either cut out or use powdered thyme. I've noticed with dried thyme the flavor is much more prominent. Delicious any way I've served it and always had folks coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Let me start by saying I'm a HUGE fan of Chef John. This being said, I'm disappointed with this recipe. It tastes too strange; the kids won't touch it. My suggestion - leave out the thyme, worcestershire sauce mustard, and cayenne... then maybe you'll have something that the whole family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Eh, I thought it'd be very good. It was okay. I didn't like the mustard flavor too much. Although,if making this a main dish by adding polish sausage let's say, I think it'd be a good addition. 'Not too cheesy either. I didn't add the thyme because I'm not a fan & even halving it, I thought might be a bad idea. I halved the cayenne, but could've easily added the full amount. It didn't have a hint of heat, even a hint, with 1/8t. Oh, mine was plenty "sauce-y" as directed. Adding less pasta would remind me of a thick soup. :/ Oh, about the topping: Not too wow-d by that either, but I did use regular, not panko, crumbs. :?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Thought this was just ok - nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States