Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
too crunchy weird taste - probably because of the cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
After trying 6 other recipes, I have found a keeper. This has become a staple in our home. I sometimes play around with different cheeses (smoked gouda or chipotle cheddar) but always go back to sharp cheddar. I omit the Dijon mustard (left a strange aftertaste), reduce the pasta to 12oz and double the planko topping. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
It was not very flavorful. I used mostly sharp cheddar and a little bit of mild cheddar, and also a little bit of Colby cheese. Also, I would suggest mixing the panko and the topping cheese, together. I put the suggested amount of cheese in it and almost all of it absorbed into the macaroni noodles. But, with a little bit of tweaking, this recipe, could be very good! Also, try seasoning the panko, this would help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very, very good. I used less Thyme but will just leave it out next time. Since I like a lot of sauce I will use less pasta. Love the yellow color & the taste the mustard adds. A classic but not boring Mac N Cheese. Love Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Probably the best mac and cheese I've had. My folks alsp mentioned that tad of mustard was a nice touch. I used buttermilk and am planning to make it again this week--and maybe try it with a little red pepper! yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Perfect as is. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I think this could be good with some changes. It was just way too spicy for my family. The spice totally covered up the cheese flavor. I usually love Chef John's recipe but this one disappointed me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Really good recipe. Do NOT omit the salt. The key is to use a variety of cheeses. I used sharp white cheddar and smoked Gouda. This dish tastes even better after it has gotten cold and then reheated. I also stuffed a few hamburgers with it and grilled. Excellent surprise when you bite into the burger. Perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It's the best I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this as written, even going out and buying whole nutmeg. This turned out creamy and quite tasty, everyone liked it. Used just the sharp cheddar as Chef John suggested, but next time I might try out some different cheeses, just for fun. Thanks Chef for an another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 41-50 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States