Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I made this as written, even going out and buying whole nutmeg. This turned out creamy and quite tasty, everyone liked it. Used just the sharp cheddar as Chef John suggested, but next time I might try out some different cheeses, just for fun. Thanks Chef for an another winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sam

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I was so looking forward to trying this recipe and I finally did tonight but it was a disappointment. I don't know exactly what it was but after reviewing some other reports I think maybe perhaps it was the thyme? There is something in there I didn't like. Maybe the Dijon mustard?? We all have different tastes and I would never criticize anyone who liked it but I didn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time, I made it exactly as the recipe stated, using the full amount of thyme, which was WAY too overpowering. The second time, I doctored it a little bit and I used 1 lb of Velveeta instead of cheddar and doubled the topping. I cut the thyme in half and it was still too overpowering. Next time, I won't use it at all. The cayenne pepper is a nice touch, but my hubby found it a bit too spicy, so I'll probably cut that in half next time. Overall, good potential but requires some fine-tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was good but not quite the to-die-for that I was hoping for. It is more on the creamy side than the cheesy side (even though I did use sharp cheddar). I will try a different recipe next time. I am not after a boxed-style mac and cheese, just something a little more cheesy. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Amazing, a fam fave now. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!Chef John. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this recipe as written. First, let me say that the topping is so unbelievably good. I suggest doubling it. As written, this macaroni and cheese is a tad too spicy for my kids, so they wouldn't eat it. My husband and I enjoyed it, though I also thought the spice could come down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Photo by La gourmande
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was delicious! Next time I will use less pasta and only cook it 6-7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Best home made mac and cheese ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very Good, Doubled as I was feeding a crowd, added 8 oz smoked gouda, and used Kraft three cheddar shred combo (vermont, sharp, and white). Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States