Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Troy Musseau
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Excellent! But I did add chopped leftover baked ham to it... Everything else is the same! I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Troy Musseau

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
I am extremely sensitive to spice and even a little spice makes me not like something. However, this was amazing!! Everyone loved it! I made extra extra crust and received so many compliments. It had just the right about of kick but the crust really made this recipe. I do not like watery Mac and cheese. This was not watery at all. Absolutely love it and recommend!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was good, but I am looking for irresistable! I did love the crunchy panko on top so will be keeping that detail for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this exactly as written, but I was disappointed with the results. It was too dry and needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
More like 3 stars for us but I think a better quality cheese would have made a difference. I cut the noodles back to 12 oz as other suggested and it was still pretty dry. Doubled the crust which was fine and cut the seasonings down a little bc I was afraid of them overpowering the dish. I would try this again but be sure get really good cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was just okay to us. It seemed dry, and not very creamy or cheesy. Felt like I should have put a can of cheddar cheese condensed soup in it. We actually didn't even finish it, and several days later after no one ate any more of it, I threw it out. I was disappointed, as I expected it to be better since all of the other "Chef John" recipes we have tried have been awesome!! I only gave it two stars because I will not be making this again, but it was still edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Mmmmmm. This is truly comfort food. The flavor was superb! I like my macaroni and cheese very moist and so I used only 8 oz. of pasta, and I found it perfect that way, creamy and not at all runny. The crunchy topping added a delicious balance to the texture of this very satisfying dish. I'm always very pleased with Chef John's recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Delicious. However I think I might make more sauce for a bit soupier texture. My family thought it was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have made this at least 5 times over the last year, but didn't want to review until I had nailed down my suggestions. I love how easy this is--totally do-able on a weeknight. I use less milk (2c), skip the thyme (I hate thyme), use velveeta mixed with whatever other cheese we have (fontina and jarlsberg tonight), and reduce the salt. I also increase the mustard to 2tsp and use dijon. Not low calorie, but easy and family friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Took this dish to a family gathering, and it was a big hit! Everyone went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States