Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I altered this to increase the sauce while still using 1 lb of pasta. It was great! Only 4 of us home and I think the whole thing will be gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Amazing taste... spices were spot on. But I agree with the other reviews... we should have used less pasta in order to get a creamier sauce. Pro tip: Add little pieces of bacon (real bacon... not bacon bits) when mixing the cheese sauce and the pasta! Bacon goes well with anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Too pasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
um. YuMMMM. I made it with 1/3 cheddar and 2/3 sharp white cheddar, but could also add gruyere or whatever kind of cheese on hand. Also works better with using less pasta like 12oz so there's more sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was delicious! The only modifications I made were - 1. I didn't realize I was out of nutmeg 2. I boiled the noodles for only 5 minutes 3. I used only 2 cups of cheddar in the sauce and topped it with about 1 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very good recipe. I made the version with less macaroni and increased the crumbles on top a bit. We used American, Velveta and Cheddar cheeses in the sauce. Instead of cheddar cheese on top with the crumbles, I used Parmesan cheese mixed in with the crumble mixture prior to applying it to the mac and cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I like to add a few handfuls of chopped kale when I boil the noodles OR I add thawed spinach before stiring in the cheese. It adds an extra layer of flavor and more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I just made this for dinner, Delicious :) It was easy! I added a little Gouda and Gruyere cheese, because I had it on hand. Defiantly will make again. Thanx for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
We had a TON of it left over at a pot luck. It just was not our cup of tea at all. I would not make this again, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blaireli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grove City, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marengo, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States