Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
this was my first go for making mac & cheese from scratch.. cut the recipe in half since it's just the two of us.. had to use a blend of soy milk and coconut milk in place of the regular (lactose intolerant).. omitted the thyme all together (got scared off bc of the reviews).. forgot the mustard.. DOH! .. i used a mild cheddar and really feel that the sharp is necessary.. sprinkled a blend of parm/romano/asiago and jack cheese for the topping in addition to the crumb topping.. would really like to try this again with a sharper cheddar and maybe a smidgen of thyme and definitely add the mustard to be able to adequately rate this recipe.. either way it still came out tasty.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
bland and weird consistency on the cheese sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
We are not avid mac-n-cheese fans, but this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
No one in my family loved this. I appreciate the use of cayenne and thyme. Everything worked well together, but the final texture was just not creamy enough for me. Also, I think it needs a little more flavor. Didn't hate it, but won't make it again. I can see myself using this as a base and tweaking it with a ton of gouda and more cheeses. Also, I loved the au gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Great recipe I've made twice. Used different noodles each time and it turned out great. I love the touch of cayenne, but otherwise it seemed a little bland to me, but this could have been the type of cheese I was using. Also I did not like the cheese on top of the crumb topping because it prevented the bread crumbs from browning and crisping. The second time I made it I just put bread crumbs on top and this was a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Was looking for a tweak to my seemingly mundane Mac and Cheese and came across this...The only things I did different was add some chopped onion and double the topping mixture. I didn't have panko, so I used whole wheat seasoned bread crumbs instead. Also used multi-grain rotini because that is what I had. The family RAVED! A couple didn't even bother with catsup this time! I've never understood that, maybe mine was just that boring...haha...this is a keeper!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Good recipe. I found it a bit bland, but my family loved it, thus 4 stars. Next time I'll add more mustard, and maybe mix in a stronger cheese in addition to the cheddar. I was glad to find a recipe that didn't call for processed cheeses. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was so good that if I were single I'd marry you. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe! The only thing I recommend is increasing the sauce and cheese. The only way this recipe could be better is to make is cheesier. The flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is really good and a nice change. I didn't have any white pepper so i just used the black, other then that i didn't change anything. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States