Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe. I like my mac and cheese with a lot of sauce, so I make about 1/2 cup more than the recipe calls for. I also don't add the breadcrumbs because I didn't grow up eating it that way. This is a great dish to make for potlucks and parties. I sometimes double it for a big crowd, and everyone raves about it. It's hard to go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is probably the best mac & cheese I've ever had. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
After inhaling two bowls (oops!) I figured I'd review this recipe. It is AMAZING. Hubs and 2 yr old LOVED it. Mixed things up a bit and used margarine (I know.. I know, but I ran out of butter), whole wheat flour, whole wheat pasta but you CANNOT tell the difference other than the roux will be a bit flecked. I added 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire, ditched the salt altogether and used ground thyme instead of dried. I also only used 2 1/2-3/4 cups of cheese (Armstrong Old Cheddar and a bit of mozz mix) and it was plenty cheesy for our tastes but I can see why people would love the full amount! The crust was excellent and I took other reviewers' suggestions and added another 1/4 cup of panko and it was perfection. Thanks Chef J!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
I made the sauce the day before a big party and then did the rest the day of. I think only using sharp cheddar makes the sauce sort of "grainy" so next time I'll experiment with smoother cheeses. Still, everyone liked it. I doubled the batch and it fit fine in an 9x13 deep baking dish. I did, however, mix it together in a roasting pan just to be able to make sure half of it didn't end up on the counter while I was mixing. Also, the 20 minutes is to long to bake; I think it took about 9 minutes to get golden on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Delicious! I watched the video first, then followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have enough sharp cheddar so used some colby jack too. No white pepper so used black. And I'm not a huge fan of Thyme so I just used a pinch. Turned out so beautiful I should have taken a picture but was more interested in just eating it. It is literally TOO good; I couldn't stop eating it and now I'm stuffed. Hubby loved it too. Last week I tried a mac and cheese recipe that was on the cover a food network magazine. It was awful (raw onion? I should have known) Chef John now outranks Alton Brown in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Okay, I changed up the recipe by eliminating thyme, nutmeg and Worcestershire and still give it 5 stars simply because even without these additions, this is a delicious mac n cheese. I had about half sharp Cheddar and half mild cheddar and to us, it was a great match. Also used a little less than a 12 ounce size box noodles because we like a bit more sauce. PS, it isn't everyday you get a call from DH telling you the mac n cheese was awesome at lunchtime. Chef John, you're my kitchen hero. Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I cut down on the amount of noodles used but it still was not creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Due to my fear of lack of flavor, I added a few dashes of onion and garlic powder, and parmesan cheese (1/4 cup). The family and I loved it! The cayenne gives a really nice flavor without being spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was ok I normally like the mustard flavor but for some reasonit just didn't work tonight with this dish...it was creamy though may just tweak it a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
There was way too much thyme (and mustard) in this dish. I used fresh thyme at 3x the amount as dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 61-70 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States