Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I am a huge fan of Chef John. But this was just ok to me. Did not like the thyme, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mustard in it. My husband said he wanted to taste more cheddar cheese. I think mustard and Worcestershire sauce overpowered it so he could not taste cheese. I am sorry but this is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Fantasty
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So tasty! I swapped out 2 cups of cooked pasta with 2 cooks of cooked cauliflower. It turned out creamy, cheesy and less guilty. The crust is perfect! Excellent recipe. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I just made this for dinner. It was delicious. The only change I made was to use Italian flavour bread crumbs since that was all I had. My husband who has NEVER liked home made mac and cheese LOVED this. Thanks Chef John for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
Love this recipe - made it many times. I just tried mixing it up as part of a beer themed menu for superbowl - wow, a totally different flavor! Replace 1 cup of milk with 1 cup of amber beer and add some bacon. Whoa! To the people who hated the thyme flavor, either cut out or use powdered thyme. I've noticed with dried thyme the flavor is much more prominent. Delicious any way I've served it and always had folks coming back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Let me start by saying I'm a HUGE fan of Chef John. This being said, I'm disappointed with this recipe. It tastes too strange; the kids won't touch it. My suggestion - leave out the thyme, worcestershire sauce mustard, and cayenne... then maybe you'll have something that the whole family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Eh, I thought it'd be very good. It was okay. I didn't like the mustard flavor too much. Although,if making this a main dish by adding polish sausage let's say, I think it'd be a good addition. 'Not too cheesy either. I didn't add the thyme because I'm not a fan & even halving it, I thought might be a bad idea. I halved the cayenne, but could've easily added the full amount. It didn't have a hint of heat, even a hint, with 1/8t. Oh, mine was plenty "sauce-y" as directed. Adding less pasta would remind me of a thick soup. :/ Oh, about the topping: Not too wow-d by that either, but I did use regular, not panko, crumbs. :?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Thought this was just ok - nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrshildebrand
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My husband LOVED this! I did add some smoked Gouda cheese and I doubled the recipe. It was delicious! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I don't usually take the time to rate the recipes I use, most often because I modify them and feel it would be unfair. I HAD to take a moment to do so today. I was looking for a recipe I could "upcycle" without a ton of alterations, but also make normally and enjoy. Jackpot!! To upcycle I used high end ingredients (fresh pasta, 1c. Shredded kerrygold aged cheddar with Irish whiskey, 2 c. Organic aged cheddar from wegman's (I forget the brand) and organic milk from the local farm). I always use local, organic butter. The only "alteration" I made was that I used 2 1/2 tsp of truffle infused olive oil instead of butter in the crust (the substitution equivalent). To die for, to say the least. My husband raved and raved. Thank you, Chef John. Whether a normal meal, side dish, or a special treat, this is my go-to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was really tasty, but just a bit sweet, I like a bit more savory. Also, if you have a child that doesn't tolerate spice well I would decrease the amount of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 364) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States