Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This was PERFECT!! I only changed two things. I didn't have elbow macaroni so I used penne (which I think turned out better anyway!) and for the second tray I used mini bow-ties which were way too small for the heavy "sauce." I also left out the cayenne because of my little kids, but I'll be making a second tray with cayenne for the adults next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon Roll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I don't think you realize how incredible this is! The crust was the star of the show. I had mine all made, then found that the only breadcrumbs I had were the Italian seasoned kind. That ended up being what was most talked about. I am hesitant to try Panko next time for fear of disappointing the family. I made this for Easter....and was promptly informed it would be added to the Thanksgiving menu. I have *never* gone wrong with anything from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
too crunchy weird taste - probably because of the cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
After trying 6 other recipes, I have found a keeper. This has become a staple in our home. I sometimes play around with different cheeses (smoked gouda or chipotle cheddar) but always go back to sharp cheddar. I omit the Dijon mustard (left a strange aftertaste), reduce the pasta to 12oz and double the planko topping. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
It was not very flavorful. I used mostly sharp cheddar and a little bit of mild cheddar, and also a little bit of Colby cheese. Also, I would suggest mixing the panko and the topping cheese, together. I put the suggested amount of cheese in it and almost all of it absorbed into the macaroni noodles. But, with a little bit of tweaking, this recipe, could be very good! Also, try seasoning the panko, this would help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very, very good. I used less Thyme but will just leave it out next time. Since I like a lot of sauce I will use less pasta. Love the yellow color & the taste the mustard adds. A classic but not boring Mac N Cheese. Love Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Probably the best mac and cheese I've had. My folks alsp mentioned that tad of mustard was a nice touch. I used buttermilk and am planning to make it again this week--and maybe try it with a little red pepper! yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Perfect as is. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I think this could be good with some changes. It was just way too spicy for my family. The spice totally covered up the cheese flavor. I usually love Chef John's recipe but this one disappointed me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Really good recipe. Do NOT omit the salt. The key is to use a variety of cheeses. I used sharp white cheddar and smoked Gouda. This dish tastes even better after it has gotten cold and then reheated. I also stuffed a few hamburgers with it and grilled. Excellent surprise when you bite into the burger. Perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 393) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States