Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
This was good, but I am looking for irresistable! I did love the crunchy panko on top so will be keeping that detail for another recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
I made this exactly as written, but I was disappointed with the results. It was too dry and needed more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
More like 3 stars for us but I think a better quality cheese would have made a difference. I cut the noodles back to 12 oz as other suggested and it was still pretty dry. Doubled the crust which was fine and cut the seasonings down a little bc I was afraid of them overpowering the dish. I would try this again but be sure get really good cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
This was just okay to us. It seemed dry, and not very creamy or cheesy. Felt like I should have put a can of cheddar cheese condensed soup in it. We actually didn't even finish it, and several days later after no one ate any more of it, I threw it out. I was disappointed, as I expected it to be better since all of the other "Chef John" recipes we have tried have been awesome!! I only gave it two stars because I will not be making this again, but it was still edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonja Grothe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
Mmmmmm. This is truly comfort food. The flavor was superb! I like my macaroni and cheese very moist and so I used only 8 oz. of pasta, and I found it perfect that way, creamy and not at all runny. The crunchy topping added a delicious balance to the texture of this very satisfying dish. I'm always very pleased with Chef John's recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
Delicious. However I think I might make more sauce for a bit soupier texture. My family thought it was a bit dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
I have made this at least 5 times over the last year, but didn't want to review until I had nailed down my suggestions. I love how easy this is--totally do-able on a weeknight. I use less milk (2c), skip the thyme (I hate thyme), use velveeta mixed with whatever other cheese we have (fontina and jarlsberg tonight), and reduce the salt. I also increase the mustard to 2tsp and use dijon. Not low calorie, but easy and family friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
Took this dish to a family gathering, and it was a big hit! Everyone went back for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
This was very good. My only issue is that I'd first changed the serving size, and didn't realize that the directions applied to the original serving size (even though the warning was on the recipe). Hey, I have chemo brain + I was rushed to make it. Anywho, had I made this perfectly, it would have been amazing (the cheese wouldn't have been sticky and gooey). I would make this again, albeit correctly, and I recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
My husband is very critical when it comes to 'comfort foods', especially mac & cheese; it has to meet certain standards for him to consider it a keeper; this one is definitely a keeper!! The cheesiness and seasonings were perfect!! The only change I would make is to cook the macaroni a bit less; it was a little soft for my liking. I also added a kielbasa, cut in bite size pieces, for a complete meal; spam or boiled ham pieces would be good too!! Great recipe; thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer_Stolle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Emmett, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 458) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States