Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I don't think you realize how incredible this is! The crust was the star of the show. I had mine all made, then found that the only breadcrumbs I had were the Italian seasoned kind. That ended up being what was most talked about. I am hesitant to try Panko next time for fear of disappointing the family. I made this for Easter....and was promptly informed it would be added to the Thanksgiving menu. I have *never* gone wrong with anything from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
too crunchy weird taste - probably because of the cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
After trying 6 other recipes, I have found a keeper. This has become a staple in our home. I sometimes play around with different cheeses (smoked gouda or chipotle cheddar) but always go back to sharp cheddar. I omit the Dijon mustard (left a strange aftertaste), reduce the pasta to 12oz and double the planko topping. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
It was not very flavorful. I used mostly sharp cheddar and a little bit of mild cheddar, and also a little bit of Colby cheese. Also, I would suggest mixing the panko and the topping cheese, together. I put the suggested amount of cheese in it and almost all of it absorbed into the macaroni noodles. But, with a little bit of tweaking, this recipe, could be very good! Also, try seasoning the panko, this would help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Very, very good. I used less Thyme but will just leave it out next time. Since I like a lot of sauce I will use less pasta. Love the yellow color & the taste the mustard adds. A classic but not boring Mac N Cheese. Love Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K8BUG

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Quartz Hill, California, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Probably the best mac and cheese I've had. My folks alsp mentioned that tad of mustard was a nice touch. I used buttermilk and am planning to make it again this week--and maybe try it with a little red pepper! yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2014
Perfect as is. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SandyK811

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I think this could be good with some changes. It was just way too spicy for my family. The spice totally covered up the cheese flavor. I usually love Chef John's recipe but this one disappointed me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Really good recipe. Do NOT omit the salt. The key is to use a variety of cheeses. I used sharp white cheddar and smoked Gouda. This dish tastes even better after it has gotten cold and then reheated. I also stuffed a few hamburgers with it and grilled. Excellent surprise when you bite into the burger. Perfect comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaCosta Lotta

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
It's the best I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 362) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States