Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Bland and pasty. Not much flavor. But I will give it credit for being rather tasty cold in an eating-it-just-cause-it's-there kind of way. I liked the crust idea but a 1/2 cup wasn't enough for my rather small dish. I may continue to use this recipe as a base, but I'll likely add garlic and/or some Parmesan/feta cheeses for extra flavor and some sort of cream for richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Once again a delicious recipe from chef john. Followed it exactly and it came out pefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Another fantastic recipe!! My fam loves this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and my family loved it. A few slight changes: Cayenne reduced to 1/8 tsp was plenty for the kids and I left out the topping, just sprinkled some remaining cheese over the top and crisped up nicely under the broiler. My husband said that he would pay money for mac and cheese like this and he can't wait to get his hands on the leftovers. He also suggested this would be a great cheese sauce over vegetables such as broccoli and/or cauliflower. I thought it was a cinch to make, I simplified some of the roux directions and dumped all the spices in together just before the milk, then added the milk all at once. Cane out smooth and creamy. Easy and delicious, this will be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Creamy and rich! This is a great recipe to build upon, I think, by adding vegetables like broccoli or kale, which I will try the next time I make this. There will definitely be a next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was really gross! I usually love Chef John's recipes but this was jut plain bad. And I usually like any mac & cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Loved it - kicks the old mac and cheese up a notch. This is the first recipe I have followed to a letter, and it was worth it. I watched the video of TJs Mac and Cheese as well. I've made it five or six times now and wouldn't change a thing. Leftovers don't last the day - they are all in there sneaking another bite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
This was PERFECT!! I only changed two things. I didn't have elbow macaroni so I used penne (which I think turned out better anyway!) and for the second tray I used mini bow-ties which were way too small for the heavy "sauce." I also left out the cayenne because of my little kids, but I'll be making a second tray with cayenne for the adults next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dragon Roll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
I don't think you realize how incredible this is! The crust was the star of the show. I had mine all made, then found that the only breadcrumbs I had were the Italian seasoned kind. That ended up being what was most talked about. I am hesitant to try Panko next time for fear of disappointing the family. I made this for Easter....and was promptly informed it would be added to the Thanksgiving menu. I have *never* gone wrong with anything from Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LibertyBelle78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Davisburg, Michigan, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
too crunchy weird taste - probably because of the cayenne pepper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eldersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States