Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2015
This is one of the best meals I've ever made. Awesome homemade mac and cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gregory Stokes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2015
Not very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liz Saenz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2015
Modifications: used 2 1/3 cups macaroni--maybe about 9 oz?--2 cups of shredded mild cheddar, 6 slices (4 oz) prepackaged American chz, 1/4 cup Italian breadcrumbs, 2 tb melted butter. Baked in 8x8 glass dish at 400 for 25 minutes. Outstanding. Maybe the best mac n chz I've ever had. Thanks to Chef John and other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2015
Made this tonight and it was WONDERFUL! We had guests over for dinner, I've never seen food disappear so fast. I went with the saucier version that he talks about in the video, and made it with Sharp Cheddar, Mozzarella, smoked Gouda, and a bit of Asiago. Thank you Chef John! Love, Love, Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SuzannaS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Very tasty but I would go slightly more creamy next time and add some vegetables such as cauliflower to give it some veggies. But delicious as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Made this again tonight for dinner and it is as always spot on. Did not take anything away, but bumped up the cayenne because we love mac and cheese with Texas Pete anyways so it was a nice smoky yum flavor! chef John continues to make my family fat and happy with his awesome recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Great mac and cheese recipe. Like everyone else, I loved the topping. I pretty much followed the recipe as written, except I didn't have panko breadcrumbs so I just used regular breadcrumbs. I also forgot the dijon mustard and it was still really good. My only criticism of the recipe is that it doesn't give the size of the casserole dish to use. I ended up using a 9x9 cake pan and it fit perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I love Chef John's recipes--this is the only one that I think deserves less than a five-star rating. Perhaps I did something wrong! It just didn't strike me as a delicious dish. Mine turned out a little bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
loved it but it needs meat. ham of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Watling
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I care for 3 seniors full time. I always make them fresh from scratch recipes. This Mac and cheese recipe is one of there favorites! I serve it as a main or side dish! Thank you Chef John, I make everything you post! Love your pallet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJ Vixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States