Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
I decided I was going to use 12 ounces of macaroni with this dish and then decided to halve it, so I used 6 ounces. I used a combination of mild cheddar, muenster and colby jack cheeses. I made the full amount of panko topping and it fit in 5 small ramekins and everyone got their own topping....it turned out superb! I cooked them until the top was golden and crisp about 13 minutes. I am not a fan of the thyme in here. I like thyme. I like it a lot actually but I don't particularly care for it in my mac and cheese but it was worth a shot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Wow! Absolutely wonderful. Very time intensive for a mac and cheese recipe but the results were great. MUCH better straight out of the oven than the next day though (although that is true with all mac and cheese I think). I could have skipped the bread crumbs and still liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
I prepared this dish exactly as written and although the flavor was good, we found it to be very dry. We like our Mac N Cheese to be cheesy and creamy. I now make it with the original measurements for the sauce but only 1/2 the amount of pasta and it's perfect for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I was surprised at how much the butter dominated and, yet, how flat it tasted overall. Still, a good sauce to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Charles Pritchard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
This was fantastic! I made the recipe almost exactly as is, except I cut it down to 4 servings. I used a tad less cayenne just because there were kids eating it, but the amount I used (about half of 1/8tsp) gave it a good kick. The only other difference was I used half sharp cheddar, and half triple cheddar blend. I divided it up into 4 little individual ramekins and it was delicious. Definitely a keeper! Stayed creamy and not dry after baking, except the delicious crusty top. The flavors were spot on. I can't wait to have the leftovers for lunch tomorrow. We served it with a garden salad, honey rosemary carrots, and yep, fried chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
YUM!!! I made this 3x in 2 days. The first time I left the thyme out on purpose, due to other reviews. But then I accidentally left the nutmeg out. It was still fantastic! The next day I made it for my boyfriend and his two teenage sons. They like spicy so I increased the cayenne pepper, but then accidentally left out the Dijon. It was still awesome! But I wanted them to have it with the Dijon so I made it again. I just got the confirmation - they love it!! This recipe is very forgiving. I've tried many others and nobody liked any of them. Until now. This is the best! (I will add that I made it two days ago but didn't bake it. They put it in fridge and then baked it tonight. So it does do well with premaking).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I have made this twice now; the first time was good, the second was out of this world. I adjusted the pasta to only 12 oz so it was creamier and doubled the topping. I also made sure the pasta had cooled before I added the cheese sauce. This insures that the pasta doesn't absorb too much liquid and dry out. Be sure to add the cheese a little at a time in step 4, so it stays smooth. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This is a great recipe. I like my mac and cheese with a lot of sauce, so I make about 1/2 cup more than the recipe calls for. I also don't add the breadcrumbs because I didn't grow up eating it that way. This is a great dish to make for potlucks and parties. I sometimes double it for a big crowd, and everyone raves about it. It's hard to go wrong with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
This is probably the best mac & cheese I've ever had. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
After inhaling two bowls (oops!) I figured I'd review this recipe. It is AMAZING. Hubs and 2 yr old LOVED it. Mixed things up a bit and used margarine (I know.. I know, but I ran out of butter), whole wheat flour, whole wheat pasta but you CANNOT tell the difference other than the roux will be a bit flecked. I added 1/2 tsp. Worcestershire, ditched the salt altogether and used ground thyme instead of dried. I also only used 2 1/2-3/4 cups of cheese (Armstrong Old Cheddar and a bit of mozz mix) and it was plenty cheesy for our tastes but I can see why people would love the full amount! The crust was excellent and I took other reviewers' suggestions and added another 1/4 cup of panko and it was perfection. Thanks Chef J!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsBrupson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States