Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Delicious! Very easy and kid-friendly. Use a little less pasta if you like your mac and cheese very saucy -- this wasn't overly saucy, but had great flavor. It's easy to make changes according to your likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
VERY good Mac-n-Cheese! Family loved it, great taste. Will be making again soon. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Oh boy! I finally found the best macaroni and cheese I have ever had. I followed the recipe exactly, except I used only 12 oz. of macaroni, to make it more cheesy. It was a perfect ratio. I used 2% milk, and it worked great - creamy and satisfying. I don't know which I liked better, the crust or the filling, they were both delicious. You have to try this recipe! Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very good, used 14 ounces of macaroni, omitted the thyme, and half the cayenne pepper. Next time I will use only 12 oz. of macaroni. I like creamier mac & cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
My family and I loved this! However, I tasted while cooking and intensified the seasonings, probably close to doubling the thyme, cayenne pepper and nutmeg. Also, for those who might not have the suggested cheese on-hand (like me), I used half gruyere and half colby jack and it worked out fine. I didn't like it when cooks rated a recipe high and then changed it, but it seems everyone does it and the "here's what I dids" are helpful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 80sGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Thanks i also love a crispy crust on top. My husband and Son will only eat the boxed stuff and i won't touch it. So thanks for recipe, i did leave out Worcestershire because i didn't have any
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
I made this for the boys before I went to work last night. I did not try this myself but based on the message I got at my break--they absolutely loved it. To be honest, there were no leftovers for me! They thought the crust was the best part. Note to self: double the crust ingredients next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
260 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I've tried a few mac and cheese recipes on this site and this is by far my favorite. It was easy to make. I read the reviews first, and learned that if I want a creamier mac and cheese to reduce the noodles, so I used 12oz instead of 16oz, which I think worked out perfectly. That's the only change I made. It had a nice combo of flavors, none being overpowering. I was slightly nervous that the cayenne pepper would be a little too spicy for my mom who hates anything spicy, but I didn't tell her that any pepper was in there and she didn't complain. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
The best mac and cheese I have made in a long time. My family all stated the same. I followed the recipe with the exception of a couple of changes. After reading the reviews, I cut the pasta by a couple of oz and that worked out perfectly. I used fresh thyme, backed the ceyenne down to 1/8 teaspoon (my dad can't have spicey), and was out of dijon so I used about a 1/2 teaspoon of dry mustard. We loved that it was baked but still creamy! Definitely reminds everyone of grandma's mac and cheese. I will use this recipe from this point. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I can't say this is the best mac and cheese I've ever had, but it tasted pretty good. Lot's said it was not creamy, so I used an extra cup of milk and adjusted the flour. The sauce thickened up a lot when I baked it, so I am glad I made extra. It probably would have tasted better if I'd not mixed cheeses. Next time I will just use sharp cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States