Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Let me start by saying I'm a HUGE fan of Chef John. This being said, I'm disappointed with this recipe. It tastes too strange; the kids won't touch it. My suggestion - leave out the thyme, worcestershire sauce mustard, and cayenne... then maybe you'll have something that the whole family will enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Eh, I thought it'd be very good. It was okay. I didn't like the mustard flavor too much. Although,if making this a main dish by adding polish sausage let's say, I think it'd be a good addition. 'Not too cheesy either. I didn't add the thyme because I'm not a fan & even halving it, I thought might be a bad idea. I halved the cayenne, but could've easily added the full amount. It didn't have a hint of heat, even a hint, with 1/8t. Oh, mine was plenty "sauce-y" as directed. Adding less pasta would remind me of a thick soup. :/ Oh, about the topping: Not too wow-d by that either, but I did use regular, not panko, crumbs. :?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Thought this was just ok - nothing special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mrshildebrand
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
My husband LOVED this! I did add some smoked Gouda cheese and I doubled the recipe. It was delicious! Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
I don't usually take the time to rate the recipes I use, most often because I modify them and feel it would be unfair. I HAD to take a moment to do so today. I was looking for a recipe I could "upcycle" without a ton of alterations, but also make normally and enjoy. Jackpot!! To upcycle I used high end ingredients (fresh pasta, 1c. Shredded kerrygold aged cheddar with Irish whiskey, 2 c. Organic aged cheddar from wegman's (I forget the brand) and organic milk from the local farm). I always use local, organic butter. The only "alteration" I made was that I used 2 1/2 tsp of truffle infused olive oil instead of butter in the crust (the substitution equivalent). To die for, to say the least. My husband raved and raved. Thank you, Chef John. Whether a normal meal, side dish, or a special treat, this is my go-to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
This was really tasty, but just a bit sweet, I like a bit more savory. Also, if you have a child that doesn't tolerate spice well I would decrease the amount of cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This was great. I too used 12 oz of macaroni. 16 oz would be too much I think for the ratio of sauce. The spices were spot on. I did not put the cheese on top of the panko. Not my thing. The crunchy panko was just right. I put the extra chees underneath. You must whisk the sauce fairly constantly though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
I followed this recipe to the T and felt it was only "okay". It's not something ill make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I love the combination of spices used that make it smell and taste so wonderful. It's a true comfort food, especially on a cold night. My fiance loved it and we will definitely be making this one again! I have been trying many different recipes to find a good baked mac and cheese, but have never come across anything very tasty, until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious made as is! I watched the video and used 12oz of pasta (about 1.5 cups, dry). Next time I will try with 8oz for a creamier mac n cheese. Also, while I did turn off and remove the roux mix from the burner to add in the cheese, my sauce came out a little grainy--after baking for 20 minutes it was barely noticeable. From reading other reviews, it seems to have been due to the cheeses I used (four cheese mexican blend and sharp cheddar--both already shredded) or I added too much cheese in to the sauce (started with adding 1 full cup and then by the 1/2 cup). Another review says the cheese should be added in slowly, 1/4 cup at a time. I will try this recipe again, adding the cheese in smaller increments and maybe even shredding the cheeses myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 390) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States