Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great recipe. Its important to watch.the video in addition to reading the recipe since the chef gives you modification options. For example I made 50% more sauce and follows the video where we layer the panko after the cheese at the end and not as per the written recipe. Also I didn't have thyme so I used sage and I doubled the panko as I wanted it extra crunchy. It was a big hit with my 5 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I just used a bit of Italian seasonings in place of thyme, no cayenne pepper b/c I didn't have any. Used a blend of cheeses. Used powdered mustard b/c I didn't have dijon. It was REALLY good. Note to self: Don't need the bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, but it was really spicy hot and the dried thyme didn't seem to go with the cheese or the spicy hot. There should be a WARNING. I'm new to cooking and I thought the ingredients would all blend and add a subtle flavor. Live and learn. I will fear thyme and cayanne pepper from now on. Going back to the simple Velveeta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninacat
Living In: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My teenage son decided to make homemade macaroni and cheese, googled it and found this recipe. I typically don't eat mac however, since my son made it, I had to give it a try. It is absolutely delicious, I had a hard time walking away from it. He followed the recipe to a t, it does not need any tweeking!! Thanks for putting this online for all to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
I made the recipe exactly as described. It was ok, nothing special. Rather flat tasting. The cheese sauce did taste quite good on it's own but once it was mixed in with the macaroni and baked, the flavor got lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fl_diner

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Finally found a Mac & cheese recipe that my hubby liked. He actually preferred that Blue box stuff till this! Highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I have been trying to find a Mac and cheese recipe that had flavor and cheesiness and this is definitely it! Watching the video he created is also quite helpful. Definitely a hit with my husband and child!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I am a huge fan of Chef John. But this was just ok to me. Did not like the thyme, Worcestershire sauce, Dijon mustard in it. My husband said he wanted to taste more cheddar cheese. I think mustard and Worcestershire sauce overpowered it so he could not taste cheese. I am sorry but this is not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hey, I am a family pet Walker.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yokohama, Kanagawa, Japan
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Photo by Fantasty
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
So tasty! I swapped out 2 cups of cooked pasta with 2 cooks of cooked cauliflower. It turned out creamy, cheesy and less guilty. The crust is perfect! Excellent recipe. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I just made this for dinner. It was delicious. The only change I made was to use Italian flavour bread crumbs since that was all I had. My husband who has NEVER liked home made mac and cheese LOVED this. Thanks Chef John for this wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States