Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Heather Floyd
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
It was awesome!!! I've made it twice for my family. The second time I left out the nutmeg because we aren't fans of it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Floyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
We LOVE chef John. We added seeded, sliced, fresh jalapenos and put bettered bread crumbs on top. I think a shallow dish would be okay, just bake for a shorter period of time. That way, everyone gets some bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Thyme DOES NOT belong in macaroni and cheese. This one is a) too much work for mac and cheese b) too many ingredients for mac and cheese c) a waste of money and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I love this recipe.it was easy to make and delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
For the first time in my life I used white pepper and Dijon mustard in a recipe and I have to say they both were great add-ins! I think next time I will use about 14 oz. of macaroni or increase the liquid component a bit...I like it a little bit more creamy. I am going to use white pepper in more of my pasta dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HannahBananna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Palm Bay, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2014
I made this for my boyfriend and I and gave his mom left overs and we all loved it! I only used 8oz of pasta so it was extra cheesy. Next time I'm gonna use extra bread crumb topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Skip liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palmyra, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Not tasty at all...followed to the tee...don't like that kick of spice and super bland...thyme over powers whole dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Excellent recipe, similar to an old one i used to make but Chef Johns is smoother, mine would come out a bit more chewy. So far, Chef John has been my primary source of recipes off of this site and not even intentionally, i look up chicken parmigiana, it a recipe by the Chef, homestyle mac, Chef John, excellent recipe, excellent chef!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adi Ibrahimovic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This recipe has replaced my long standing (15 years+) mac and cheese recipe as my base for mac and cheese creations. Fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Walter Fuller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 421) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States