Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Delicious! I watched the video first, then followed the recipe almost exactly. I didn't have enough sharp cheddar so used some colby jack too. No white pepper so used black. And I'm not a huge fan of Thyme so I just used a pinch. Turned out so beautiful I should have taken a picture but was more interested in just eating it. It is literally TOO good; I couldn't stop eating it and now I'm stuffed. Hubby loved it too. Last week I tried a mac and cheese recipe that was on the cover a food network magazine. It was awful (raw onion? I should have known) Chef John now outranks Alton Brown in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
Okay, I changed up the recipe by eliminating thyme, nutmeg and Worcestershire and still give it 5 stars simply because even without these additions, this is a delicious mac n cheese. I had about half sharp Cheddar and half mild cheddar and to us, it was a great match. Also used a little less than a 12 ounce size box noodles because we like a bit more sauce. PS, it isn't everyday you get a call from DH telling you the mac n cheese was awesome at lunchtime. Chef John, you're my kitchen hero. Many thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
I cut down on the amount of noodles used but it still was not creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Due to my fear of lack of flavor, I added a few dashes of onion and garlic powder, and parmesan cheese (1/4 cup). The family and I loved it! The cayenne gives a really nice flavor without being spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was ok I normally like the mustard flavor but for some reasonit just didn't work tonight with this dish...it was creamy though may just tweak it a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
There was way too much thyme (and mustard) in this dish. I used fresh thyme at 3x the amount as dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Bland and pasty. Not much flavor. But I will give it credit for being rather tasty cold in an eating-it-just-cause-it's-there kind of way. I liked the crust idea but a 1/2 cup wasn't enough for my rather small dish. I may continue to use this recipe as a base, but I'll likely add garlic and/or some Parmesan/feta cheeses for extra flavor and some sort of cream for richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Once again a delicious recipe from chef john. Followed it exactly and it came out pefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Another fantastic recipe!! My fam loves this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and my family loved it. A few slight changes: Cayenne reduced to 1/8 tsp was plenty for the kids and I left out the topping, just sprinkled some remaining cheese over the top and crisped up nicely under the broiler. My husband said that he would pay money for mac and cheese like this and he can't wait to get his hands on the leftovers. He also suggested this would be a great cheese sauce over vegetables such as broccoli and/or cauliflower. I thought it was a cinch to make, I simplified some of the roux directions and dumped all the spices in together just before the milk, then added the milk all at once. Cane out smooth and creamy. Easy and delicious, this will be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States