Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
Due to my fear of lack of flavor, I added a few dashes of onion and garlic powder, and parmesan cheese (1/4 cup). The family and I loved it! The cayenne gives a really nice flavor without being spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
It was ok I normally like the mustard flavor but for some reasonit just didn't work tonight with this dish...it was creamy though may just tweak it a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
There was way too much thyme (and mustard) in this dish. I used fresh thyme at 3x the amount as dried.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Bland and pasty. Not much flavor. But I will give it credit for being rather tasty cold in an eating-it-just-cause-it's-there kind of way. I liked the crust idea but a 1/2 cup wasn't enough for my rather small dish. I may continue to use this recipe as a base, but I'll likely add garlic and/or some Parmesan/feta cheeses for extra flavor and some sort of cream for richness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kinston, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
Once again a delicious recipe from chef john. Followed it exactly and it came out pefect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
Another fantastic recipe!! My fam loves this !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YaYa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and my family loved it. A few slight changes: Cayenne reduced to 1/8 tsp was plenty for the kids and I left out the topping, just sprinkled some remaining cheese over the top and crisped up nicely under the broiler. My husband said that he would pay money for mac and cheese like this and he can't wait to get his hands on the leftovers. He also suggested this would be a great cheese sauce over vegetables such as broccoli and/or cauliflower. I thought it was a cinch to make, I simplified some of the roux directions and dumped all the spices in together just before the milk, then added the milk all at once. Cane out smooth and creamy. Easy and delicious, this will be in my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2014
Creamy and rich! This is a great recipe to build upon, I think, by adding vegetables like broccoli or kale, which I will try the next time I make this. There will definitely be a next time. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
This was really gross! I usually love Chef John's recipes but this was jut plain bad. And I usually like any mac & cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2014
Loved it - kicks the old mac and cheese up a notch. This is the first recipe I have followed to a letter, and it was worth it. I watched the video of TJs Mac and Cheese as well. I've made it five or six times now and wouldn't change a thing. Leftovers don't last the day - they are all in there sneaking another bite...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States