Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: May 22, 2013
No one in my family loved this. I appreciate the use of cayenne and thyme. Everything worked well together, but the final texture was just not creamy enough for me. Also, I think it needs a little more flavor. Didn't hate it, but won't make it again. I can see myself using this as a base and tweaking it with a ton of gouda and more cheeses. Also, I loved the au gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Great recipe I've made twice. Used different noodles each time and it turned out great. I love the touch of cayenne, but otherwise it seemed a little bland to me, but this could have been the type of cheese I was using. Also I did not like the cheese on top of the crumb topping because it prevented the bread crumbs from browning and crisping. The second time I made it I just put bread crumbs on top and this was a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
Was looking for a tweak to my seemingly mundane Mac and Cheese and came across this...The only things I did different was add some chopped onion and double the topping mixture. I didn't have panko, so I used whole wheat seasoned bread crumbs instead. Also used multi-grain rotini because that is what I had. The family RAVED! A couple didn't even bother with catsup this time! I've never understood that, maybe mine was just that boring...haha...this is a keeper!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Good recipe. I found it a bit bland, but my family loved it, thus 4 stars. Next time I'll add more mustard, and maybe mix in a stronger cheese in addition to the cheddar. I was glad to find a recipe that didn't call for processed cheeses. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
This was so good that if I were single I'd marry you. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leasa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simcoe, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
This is a fabulous recipe! The only thing I recommend is increasing the sauce and cheese. The only way this recipe could be better is to make is cheesier. The flavor is great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This is really good and a nice change. I didn't have any white pepper so i just used the black, other then that i didn't change anything. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2013
We loved this macaroni and cheese! It's creamy and cheesy and the herbs give it wonderful flavor. I used 16 oz of macaroni but took the advice of some others and doubled the cheese sauce. We do love it extra creamy but next time I will only up the cheese sauce by half; that is plenty extra. Since my sweetheart ate two bowls before I could get it to the oven, I'm going to cook a bit more macaroni (probably about 6-8 oz more) and use the rest of the sauce so I have a full pan to bake. Oh - I left off the panko bread crumbs this time and simply liberally sprinkled the top with paprika. Great recipe and I will make it again and again. Thank you, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maggieroze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Huddersfield, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Very good, we really liked the panko crumbs. Still we would have liked a more cheesy sauce. Next time we will try making double the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
If u haven't tried this u owe it to yourself. I mean its not the dieters dream dish but hey we can't diet all the time. The kids didn't like it much but wow I almost ate the whole pan myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 181-190 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States