Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 19)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
I can't stop making this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scott Gillard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Simply Amazing!! Thank you so much for this recipe, me and my boyfriend just loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I just made this dish tonight and everyone loved it! Very good but I did leave the Thyme out and used three different chedder cheese. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexstar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA
Living In: Centerville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Everyone loved this, even my picky daughter. I used plain cheddar, not sharp, to make it appealing to kids. I 1.5 times the pasta and cheese sauce, but doubled the topping as everyone likes the crunchy top, and stuck it in a 9 x 12 casserole dish. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Good, but not the flavor I was looking for. The cheese was too stringy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethPatterson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made this for the first time, following the recipe exactly, and it was delicious! The entire family LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
So delicious!!! I don't really like thyme and didn't have worcestirshire sauce, so made a few changes based on other reviews. After making the roux, I added 1/4 tsp onion powder, 1/4 tsp garlic powder, 1/8 tsp white pepper. Then I added the milk cold (which i got nervous about last minute), but turned out fine. I grated some nutmeg and then added the salt and dijon mustard as directed (cut down a little on the salt). I actually added the mustard before the cheese by accident, but it was fine. I think the key is the cheese. I had an excellent sharp cheddar and a dutch gouda recommended by the person at the cheese counter. Did about 2 parts cheddar, 1 part gouda, freshly grated. I used the entire 16 ounce package and baked it in a 9.5 x 14.5 pyrex casserole dish (I don't know what the real measurements are.. just used a tape measure. in any case, it was kinda large). Turned out amazing. Really great ratio of cheese to pasta. Very gourmet restaurant quality, and the wide dish means that a lot of the pieces had the panko crust and even the pasta was slightly crispy. I accidentally skipped sprinkling the cheese before the panko, but turned out fine. My first time making mac and cheese from scratch and I have always wanted to try it. This was a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Used a 5 year aged sharp cheddar from Wisconsin. Was a little too overpowering for my taste but I am not much of a "sharp" cheese fan. Panko and cheese topping was the best. Going to try other recipes before I come back to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
I need to tweak this before I can give it 5 stars. It was a bit too spicy, and my cheese sauce separated a bit when I added the Dijon mustard. Still, it was rich and creamy and very tasty, and pretty easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Staten Island, New York, USA
Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
A little on the spicy side for kids, but it was tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 181-190 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States