Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
This stuff is luscious. I made it as written except without the spices or worsterschire since I didn't have any on hand, and I doubled the sauce since someone mentioned it wasn't that saucy. We love our mac n cheese saucy, and everyone thought it turned out perfect. I'm sure the spices would have added some great flavor, so I'll try to include next time. I took this to our Christmas Eve gathering and everyone said it was amazing. I'm excited to try it with the spices, and then again with some other cheeses just to mix it up! Thanks for the great recipe! I definitely won't need to look elsewhere for a mac n cheese recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Best homemade Mac n cheese ever. I accidentally put in too much Dijon, like a tablespoon or more but it came out magnificent ! My nephew ate half the 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Delicious! Very easy and kid-friendly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kala

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Coon Valley, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Honestly, I do not get the high ratings for this Mac and Cheese. The only thing I changed was using about 12 oz macaroni noodles as other reviews suggested. The bottom line is that this dish was dry, bland and tasteless. I have tried some other recipes that are much creamier and tastier - definitely would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LexBell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dawnie417
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
EXCELLENT! EXCELLENT! I don't review much recipes, and this is one worth to review! Please read! :) I wanted to use the 16 oz. of elbow macaroni, but also wanted it cheesy as well. So I "almost" doubled the wet ingredients (for the sauce). I found this to be a PERFECT RATIO for the 16 oz. macaroni. I used 3/4 cup butter, about 3/4 cup flour , 5 cups cheese total (I use half sharp cheddar grated myself and half regular cheddar) (reserving 1.5 cups of cheese for the top) and 5 cups of milk. I adjust the seasonings as accordingly as well! **I never add the nutmeg. I'm a bit scared putting nutmeg in this dish, even if it's just a pinch! LOL **Instead of the dijon mustard I use the mustard powder, and only use half the amount it states (only because I don't know how much of a mustard flavor it will pick up) **I up the panko bread crumbs to 1 cup, and the melted butter to 2 TBs. The crust from that is amazing. **I'm not a big fan of too much thyme, so I used italian seasonings instead. ** The cayenne pepper is great in this, but I usually half it if kids are eating it in case they're fussy. I have also sprinkled on crushed red pepper flakes instead. **I do not use ALL sharp cheddar cheese. I use half sharp (freshly grated myself), and half regular cheddar!!! **DO add the worsherchire sauce! This is soooooo good! I will never want to try another type of mac n' cheese recipe ever. Thank you for reading! :) ** I included a photo and it's photo #2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was not that great. I can barely taste the cheese in this. It was edible, but not a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
I am a Mac and cheese lover and this had too much going on. Thyme and cayenne was very overpowering. The recipe was very easy to follow and the topping was fantastic! Next time I will be leaving out the thyme for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby
Photo by JCFawcett
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
This was incredible! Thanks, Chef John. Made just a couple of minor changes. Used 2 cups cheese and 3 1/2 cups milk. Sauce was the perfect consistency. Added Kellog's Corn Flakes crumbs instead of Panko. Also, I added leftover Thanksgiving day ham (2 cups) to make it a full meal. I'd cut back on the salt a bit if adding the ham. This is a winner....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Made it as stated. It didn't taste cheesy at all. Tasted like noodles and white gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Yum! I used 1/2 cheddar and 1/2 italian blend cheeses, and I also added a little velveeta because I live in KY and it seems to be a rule in the south! I also pre-measured my spices and mixed them together and just added them at once to the sauce. This helped on my prep and cleanup time and it does not affect the overall flavor at the end! Very good recipe will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naverymom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moberly, Missouri, USA
Living In: La Grange, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 464) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States