Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
made this for a family dinner...followed the instructions to a T, but following advice of other posters, I made 1 1/2 the amount of cheese sauce..after all of that, it still turned out on the dry side, plus the flavor was way to bland for all of us, even the grand kids didn't care for it..a lot of work and ingredients for a mediocre dish..won't make this again..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by minkyblack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
Loved it! Made about 1 1/2lbs of elbows and doubled the cheese sauce. I added about 1/2 tsp of dry mustard to the cheese sauce as well. I used skim milk and had no problem with a nice thick creamy sauce. Loved the panko crumbs....nice and crunchy. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
This came out tasty, but a bit dry to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farnborough, Hampshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight and got raves from my family. Husband and 16 year old boy had thirds. OMGosh!! This recipe went together very easily and very quickly. This is going in family "favorites" cookbook. I will make this time and time again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sunnygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmersville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
Good ole mac n cheese. I would have liked it a bit saucier, so next time I will reduce the pasta. Nice flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Trenton, Ontario, Canada
Photo by Michaelc
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Very nice, loved the crispy crunch of the top that the Panko gave it. I added a little parmigiano reggiano that I microplaned over the top to give it a nice crunch. next time I might add a bit of bacon. Everything goes better with bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michaelc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Big hit with the family. Some Mac & Cheeses are just pasta and cheese but the spices in this recipe give it so much more depth. This will be regular with us during Lent when we are not eating meat on Fridays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
We loved this! The flavors were great and the topping made it exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ed Denmat
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Holy cow!! Thomas Jefferson knew how to rock some macc & cheese! This stuff is addictive. I used Keebler Club crackers instead of the Panko but otherwise followed Chef John's awesome direction.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ed Denmat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
This was a stellar recipe. The seasonings were certainly different than I was used to, but very nice. I certainly made some errors while making this, though. First, I didn't actually have any AP flour, so I ground up some oats to replace it. The oats weren't quite good enough at thickening it, so I ended up having to add some instant (unflavored) potato to it (just enough to thicken it). When I made the roux, I accidentally browned it too much. Strangely, it gave it a campfire flavor. I also used paprika instead of cayenne (which was probably part of the campfire flavor). As I made it, it was a four star recipe, but I'd bet that if I had made it right, it would have been a five star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States