Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We have tried several mac and cheese recipes from this site and this one is the best. It is a perfect texture, smooth and creamy. Everything you want in cheese sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristy H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I made this for a crowd and it was a hit! I've since cut it down to use as a side for dinner as well. Rather than make the crust, I skipped the baking and put it in to homemade bread bowls. It was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
Great recipe! I followed Chef John's suggestion for semi-cheesy mac and used 12 oz. of macaroni. It is still INCREDIBLY cheezy, and I may go up to the 16 oz. next time. I used old/sharp cheddar and gruyere, and it came out beautifully. I can't wait to have more for lunch today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Sorry, I didn't like it......too many flavors and not creamy enough
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is the first time I've tried making homemade Mac and Cheese. I followed this recipe to a T and sadly, I was disappointed. I had a 500g box of macaroni and when I converted it to ounces it was 17 point something ounces so I took a chance and used the whole thing. There was a lot of sauce when I poured it over the pasta, I was a little worried it would be soupy when it came out of the oven. It was surprisingly dry. I was amazed at how much it soaked into the pasta. The flavor was not very cheesy and I even made sure to buy sharp cheddar as it is not something I would typically have on hand. My first mistake was using the whole box of macaroni. I think I would follow other reviewers suggestions of only using 12 oz of pasta and increase the amount of cheese if I was ever to make this again. I was excited about the topping but I think it would be better if there was more sauce. Also, I used ground thyme and I really didn't notice the taste at all. I think I will keep searching for a mac and cheese recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
Just OK...would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tiburon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
Loved it! I added a scoop of sour cream. Definitely a keeper recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Great recipe to build from, but I did a few things different. I used rigatoni vs. elbow mac. Instead of 3 cups of cheddar I did 2 chedder and 1 havarti to give it a little zing. I also substituted the panko bread crumbs with crushed corn flakes and instead of going with more cheddar I topped it with fresh grated parmesan. Turned out amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I want to give it a 5 but I can't because I didn't have the cayenne, Worcestershire, white pepper, and thyme. That being said, I will buy those particular items and make it again. I also apparently poured too much pasta out of the box because my family said "more cheese!" With that being said, I will make it exactly as the recipe states and will update my rating then. :) (PS - Chef John's video on mashed potatoes is the bomb)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dewey, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Hooray for no processed cheese! I used mild and medium cheddar, but I did wish I had sharp on hand. I left out the nutmeg, since I don't like it in anything, except a dash in pumpkin pie. I used vegetarian Worcestershire sauce, cut down the cayenne a tad, used a little black pepper and Italian bread crumbs instead of panko (omitted the butter in that, just sprayed the top with oil). Next time I will use a little less salt and make more sauce. It does soak in when you bake it. I also think it would benefit from some sauteed onion. Love the additions of white pepper and thyme. I used a heaping 1/4 tsp of thyme and it was perfect! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 368) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States