Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Awesome dish....needed a little more cheese in topping up it was fabulous. Tested and approved by 4 firemen as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BigPete
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
D-lish (featuring Crust)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
This was good -but I cannot say that it was the best recipe that I have tried. Thanks anyway, Chef John. I like trying out your recipes and I enjoy your videos as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
I just made this recipe & had to alter a couple things - not because I wanted to, but just going with things I had on hand. I am currently not living in the US so getting some ingredients at the local store isn't always something I can do. Instead of panko crumbs or bread crumbs of any sort, I ground up Bugles (how I can get those & not breadcrumbs is a mystery to me!!). It turned out excellent!! It was just the right amount of ooey, gooey cheesy-ness plus tangy from the cayenne pepper and Dijon mustard (had to substitute Spicy Brown mustard). Will make again and again and again!! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamaHen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Illinois, USA
Photo by Fulfigurbeauty
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
For a first timer I was definitely worried but this recipe was so easy to follow and my family absolutely loved it. Thanks Chef John
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fulfigurbeauty
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I'm on the hunt for a great recipe for mac and cheese and so far this is the best of all I've tried. The family loved it. I used less noodles (per the video suggestion) because I wanted it creamier and not so thick. Will make again...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
This was awful. If it weren't for that single pinch of nutmeg, I wouldn't be able to taste it at all (and maybe it's because it's still in my kitchen, and I can simply smell it). Even my pastaholic teenage daughter didn't like it. I only used 12oz of pasta because I wasn't paying attention at the size when I purchased it, and it was still dry. I had to peel the cheddar topping off because it was a solid, dried clump. I don't cook bad meals, and this was an embarrassment. At least I was able to say it wasn't my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
This was delicious. The cayenne pepper adds a great kick to this. This was a big hit at our church luncheon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
a little bland for me personally, perhaps with different cheeses? i'd like to try it with only sharp cheddar. i also found it didn't reheat very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
I halved the recipe and cut the macaroni back to 4 ounces which made it very cheesy and yummy. I had reservations about the seasonings in the sauce, but it is a nice combination of flavors with the cheese. I would never have thought to put thyme in mac and cheese, but it really works. I used the three cheeses that Chef John states in the video (Cheddar, Gouda, and Gruyère) and I really enjoyed this dish. And the Panko topping is also a winner. Thanks, Chef John!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States