Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
This is a good mac and cheese dish. Next time I will not add any Thyme. I did not use the ground thyme but the leaves and I could definitely taste it throughout the dish. It was kind of strong. My kids and husband thought the same thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Herkimer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
I'll make it again, minus the Cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
LOVE CHEF JOHN! BUT...the sauce needs to be doubled OR as John suggested use 1/2 amount of pasta... VERY VERY DRY... but could be great with a few modifications...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I haven't tried many mac and cheese recipes because after we tried this one, it became our go-to. The only modification I make is to reduce the cayenne by half: while the adults like it full strength, it's a bit much for our little one. I make a full batch and portion it into 3 single-serving lasagna baking dishes: I cook one and put the other two in the freezer. It freezes well, which seems important for this recipe because it is about a 1.5 hour time commitment, at least for this beginning cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
Wow! Tried this recipe and it was fantastic! The only thing I changed was the bread crumbs. I like crushed barbecue potato chipson my mac and cheese. Outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
When I first had stared with the original seaonings it had really strong taste I am not sure what is was but I had to had a lot more cheese and a a lot more salt it still had the spicy kick to it though.Also, the cheese sauce had came out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is a very good recipe. Watching the video was very helpful in that Chef John goes over your options. I chose fewer noodles for a creamier mac and cheese experience. Ten ounces of noodles were perfect for my family. If you use whole nutmeg, and you should, use half of what you think you might need. I used what I thought was a pinch, and it was strong in nutmeg. Happily, we all like nutmeg here. If you think you have panko and don't, as happened to me, saltines make a decent substitute, just don't pulverize them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very tasty! A crowd favourite even for the picky eaters. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
very bland, I was look for a recipe that has plenty of flavor. So Far some of the frozen has been the most flavorful. I know, what a thing to say but tis true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I altered this to increase the sauce while still using 1 lb of pasta. It was great! Only 4 of us home and I think the whole thing will be gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States