Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!Chef John. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this recipe as written. First, let me say that the topping is so unbelievably good. I suggest doubling it. As written, this macaroni and cheese is a tad too spicy for my kids, so they wouldn't eat it. My husband and I enjoyed it, though I also thought the spice could come down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Photo by La gourmande
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was delicious! Next time I will use less pasta and only cook it 6-7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Best home made mac and cheese ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very Good, Doubled as I was feeding a crowd, added 8 oz smoked gouda, and used Kraft three cheddar shred combo (vermont, sharp, and white). Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This macaroni and cheese was wonderful and cheesy and very easy to make. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great recipe. Its important to watch.the video in addition to reading the recipe since the chef gives you modification options. For example I made 50% more sauce and follows the video where we layer the panko after the cheese at the end and not as per the written recipe. Also I didn't have thyme so I used sage and I doubled the panko as I wanted it extra crunchy. It was a big hit with my 5 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
I just used a bit of Italian seasonings in place of thyme, no cayenne pepper b/c I didn't have any. Used a blend of cheeses. Used powdered mustard b/c I didn't have dijon. It was REALLY good. Note to self: Don't need the bread crumbs next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was disappointing. I followed the recipe exactly, but it was really spicy hot and the dried thyme didn't seem to go with the cheese or the spicy hot. There should be a WARNING. I'm new to cooking and I thought the ingredients would all blend and add a subtle flavor. Live and learn. I will fear thyme and cayanne pepper from now on. Going back to the simple Velveeta recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ninacat
Living In: Boardman, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
My teenage son decided to make homemade macaroni and cheese, googled it and found this recipe. I typically don't eat mac however, since my son made it, I had to give it a try. It is absolutely delicious, I had a hard time walking away from it. He followed the recipe to a t, it does not need any tweeking!! Thanks for putting this online for all to enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 457) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States