Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This is a very good recipe. Watching the video was very helpful in that Chef John goes over your options. I chose fewer noodles for a creamier mac and cheese experience. Ten ounces of noodles were perfect for my family. If you use whole nutmeg, and you should, use half of what you think you might need. I used what I thought was a pinch, and it was strong in nutmeg. Happily, we all like nutmeg here. If you think you have panko and don't, as happened to me, saltines make a decent substitute, just don't pulverize them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doc Simonson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Peter, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Very tasty! A crowd favourite even for the picky eaters. Will make again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
very bland, I was look for a recipe that has plenty of flavor. So Far some of the frozen has been the most flavorful. I know, what a thing to say but tis true.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I altered this to increase the sauce while still using 1 lb of pasta. It was great! Only 4 of us home and I think the whole thing will be gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Amazing taste... spices were spot on. But I agree with the other reviews... we should have used less pasta in order to get a creamier sauce. Pro tip: Add little pieces of bacon (real bacon... not bacon bits) when mixing the cheese sauce and the pasta! Bacon goes well with anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Too pasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
um. YuMMMM. I made it with 1/3 cheddar and 2/3 sharp white cheddar, but could also add gruyere or whatever kind of cheese on hand. Also works better with using less pasta like 12oz so there's more sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
This was delicious! The only modifications I made were - 1. I didn't realize I was out of nutmeg 2. I boiled the noodles for only 5 minutes 3. I used only 2 cups of cheddar in the sauce and topped it with about 1 cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very good recipe. I made the version with less macaroni and increased the crumbles on top a bit. We used American, Velveta and Cheddar cheeses in the sauce. Instead of cheddar cheese on top with the crumbles, I used Parmesan cheese mixed in with the crumble mixture prior to applying it to the mac and cheese. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2013
I like to add a few handfuls of chopped kale when I boil the noodles OR I add thawed spinach before stiring in the cheese. It adds an extra layer of flavor and more color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 392) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States