Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
This was wonderful i added more milk excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This will be my new go to mac and cheese. I didn't have any problems with the thyme, the cayenne, or the sauce/noodle ratio. However, I will leave out the pepper next time because I am not a fan and if people want pepper, they can put it on their own serving. That was awesome! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2013
EVERYONE loved it!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
This recipe is well worth 5 stars. Although I am not a professional cook, I do cook for function on a weekly basis. This dish is and has always been a HUGE! I really think that it's important to state that like all recipes I chose I almost always alter it to my individual tastes. I have never made it with the thyme and I have found that the Worcestershire and mustard can make or break it on flavor.The recipe uses a basic rue, and I have never had an issue with it not being the perfect creamy. This recipe is fabulous to play with and I highly suggest trying before writing it off all together! One experiment I did I used the Worcestershire mustard and some Cajun seasoning, it was beyond amazing! In short LOL love this recipe and for those who had issues try experimenting along with watching your heat during the rue sauce do not add to much cheese(this is what is making it grainy) and you should be good to go!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Port Hueneme, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
amazing recipie !!! the crust is proboly the best part so to make it extra crunchy add 1 cup of bread crumbs insted of half a cup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by saf107

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
this was my first go for making mac & cheese from scratch.. cut the recipe in half since it's just the two of us.. had to use a blend of soy milk and coconut milk in place of the regular (lactose intolerant).. omitted the thyme all together (got scared off bc of the reviews).. forgot the mustard.. DOH! .. i used a mild cheddar and really feel that the sharp is necessary.. sprinkled a blend of parm/romano/asiago and jack cheese for the topping in addition to the crumb topping.. would really like to try this again with a sharper cheddar and maybe a smidgen of thyme and definitely add the mustard to be able to adequately rate this recipe.. either way it still came out tasty.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
bland and weird consistency on the cheese sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
We are not avid mac-n-cheese fans, but this recipe is a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
No one in my family loved this. I appreciate the use of cayenne and thyme. Everything worked well together, but the final texture was just not creamy enough for me. Also, I think it needs a little more flavor. Didn't hate it, but won't make it again. I can see myself using this as a base and tweaking it with a ton of gouda and more cheeses. Also, I loved the au gratin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Great recipe I've made twice. Used different noodles each time and it turned out great. I love the touch of cayenne, but otherwise it seemed a little bland to me, but this could have been the type of cheese I was using. Also I did not like the cheese on top of the crumb topping because it prevented the bread crumbs from browning and crisping. The second time I made it I just put bread crumbs on top and this was a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States