Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I have made this recipe twice now. The first time, I made it exactly as the recipe stated, using the full amount of thyme, which was WAY too overpowering. The second time, I doctored it a little bit and I used 1 lb of Velveeta instead of cheddar and doubled the topping. I cut the thyme in half and it was still too overpowering. Next time, I won't use it at all. The cayenne pepper is a nice touch, but my hubby found it a bit too spicy, so I'll probably cut that in half next time. Overall, good potential but requires some fine-tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
This was good but not quite the to-die-for that I was hoping for. It is more on the creamy side than the cheesy side (even though I did use sharp cheddar). I will try a different recipe next time. I am not after a boxed-style mac and cheese, just something a little more cheesy. I followed the recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Amazing, a fam fave now. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
THANK YOU!!!!!!!!Chef John. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
I made this recipe as written. First, let me say that the topping is so unbelievably good. I suggest doubling it. As written, this macaroni and cheese is a tad too spicy for my kids, so they wouldn't eat it. My husband and I enjoyed it, though I also thought the spice could come down a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Photo by La gourmande
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This was delicious! Next time I will use less pasta and only cook it 6-7 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Best home made mac and cheese ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Very Good, Doubled as I was feeding a crowd, added 8 oz smoked gouda, and used Kraft three cheddar shred combo (vermont, sharp, and white). Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hartland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This macaroni and cheese was wonderful and cheesy and very easy to make. The whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley Dima

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2014
Great recipe. Its important to watch.the video in addition to reading the recipe since the chef gives you modification options. For example I made 50% more sauce and follows the video where we layer the panko after the cheese at the end and not as per the written recipe. Also I didn't have thyme so I used sage and I doubled the panko as I wanted it extra crunchy. It was a big hit with my 5 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 419) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Chef John's Party Cheese Puffs

Sharp Cheddar and fresh thyme make these puffs the perfect party appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States