Chef John's Macaroni and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 13, 2015
Very tasty but I would go slightly more creamy next time and add some vegetables such as cauliflower to give it some veggies. But delicious as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2015
Made this again tonight for dinner and it is as always spot on. Did not take anything away, but bumped up the cayenne because we love mac and cheese with Texas Pete anyways so it was a nice smoky yum flavor! chef John continues to make my family fat and happy with his awesome recipes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
Great mac and cheese recipe. Like everyone else, I loved the topping. I pretty much followed the recipe as written, except I didn't have panko breadcrumbs so I just used regular breadcrumbs. I also forgot the dijon mustard and it was still really good. My only criticism of the recipe is that it doesn't give the size of the casserole dish to use. I ended up using a 9x9 cake pan and it fit perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2015
I love Chef John's recipes--this is the only one that I think deserves less than a five-star rating. Perhaps I did something wrong! It just didn't strike me as a delicious dish. Mine turned out a little bland...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2015
loved it but it needs meat. ham of bacon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keith Watling
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I care for 3 seniors full time. I always make them fresh from scratch recipes. This Mac and cheese recipe is one of there favorites! I serve it as a main or side dish! Thank you Chef John, I make everything you post! Love your pallet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NJ Vixen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
This REALLY was an amazing Mac & Cheese dish. Everyone loved it. I took Chef John's suggestion, and split the difference and used about 12 oz, I like mine a little cheesier so I thought 16 oz would be too much. The best part was the Panko crumb top. It was great. This is now my "go to" mac and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2015
It was a bit too dry for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie Meacham Craig Barillas
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2015
This was so good I couldn't stop eating. I'm afraid to make it again! maybe I'll just have to save this for company...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
Too dry and too much thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 460) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Chef John’s Macaroni and Cheese

See how to make Thomas Jefferson’s favorite comfort food.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States