Chef John's Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Overall tasty lemon square. Make sure not to over bake the lemon top; the timing in the recipe is perfect! However my crust was slightly undercooked. Next time I will add an extra minute or so to bake the crust but will definitely be trying this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Taybecookn
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Loved this recipe!! My top favorite dessert are lemon bars and this recipe was my first homemade version! I followed recipe exactly! Only thing I did different was doubled the crust because I love a thick cookie underneath the filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jessica Whyte
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
This recipe was wonderful! It is like Lemon Meringue Pie but with half the hassle. One thing I did to make baking a bit easier was instead greasing the baking pan I just lined it with wax paper. It just slid right out and was much easier to slice. Ensure to watch both crust and filling when baked as the times are subject to change (crust: 18 mins, custard: 20 mins).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Whyte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
We are a household that loves lemon bars, and we love this one! I even made it gluten free, by substituting a gluten-free flour blend, and it was also great. The gluten free blend made the crust very flaky, and we really liked that. No one here even realized they were gluten-free! I love Chef John's recipes; I've always found them to be reliably successful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Just made these and they are awesome! My family (1 husband and 5 kids) love lemon bars. I normally do not...but I do love these! A lot of lemon bars I've had just taste kind of bland but not these, just a pure wonderful lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: White Bear Lake, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
I made this recipe for my Husband's 30th birthday since he isn't a fan of cake. Everyone loved it!!! The lemons I zested & squeezed were very sour but the sugar balanced it out perfectly for a delicious mouth puckering sweet & tart lemon custard topping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desert Damsel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Moppel
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
These were really good. The crust wasn't crumbly, but rather soft and buttery, which made it nice and easy to press into the bottom of the pan. I didn't need to use water on my fingers either. I did not get that white crust on top of the custard, it turned light golden brown. Not ugly, but not like in the picture or description either. The only thing I'll change next time is cut back on the sugar. The bars were awfully sweet. I didn't grease the pan, I used non stick aluminum foil. The bottom of the bars didn't stick, so all I had to do was carefully separate the edges from the foil. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
My crust was never cookie crumble like, but still tasted great. In the custard, I think I expected more of the lemon flavor. I wanted the lemon to really bite me! It was great, but I think I want to keep searching for that special lemon bar recipe; however, in the meantime...this will certainly do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rene016

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
Delicious and simple to make! Don't change a thing to this recipe! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
When I moistened my fingers to press the dough in the dish, the dough got too wet and it wasn't easy to prick it with a fork, it keep going closed. (I did watch the video.) It didn't get a white crust when done, it was starting to brown, so I took it out after 22 minutes. The bottom crust was crumbly when I cut it. It tasted very good, but I am taking it to a meeting and I want it to look like bought ones do. Oh well...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Chef John's Lighter Lemon Curd

All the rich, lemony goodness with less fat and fewer calories.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States